We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Chillon

Chateau de Chillon
Av de Chillon 21, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
41 21 966 89 10
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 13 attractions in Montreux
Type: Castles
Attraction Details
Gloucester
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Even though it was pouring with rain, this was fascinating. You will need to allow plenty of time as there are 46 rooms to go through and the connecting stairways and passages all make the experience very interesting and fun. On our visit, the only rooms that were heated were the museum and the café so it did get very cold but I understand from friends that they normally do have heaters on in some of the rooms.
The café in the castle is only a coffee machine, another drinks machine and a few tables and chairs.
If you want food, there is a fantastic little restaurant just up from the castle entrance called "Restaurant Taverne du Château de Chillon" which serves a very wide variety of excellent food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    240
    39
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

In Montreux maybe this is the only attraction place so that's why you must visit it. I think it was very nice and better to take Ipod audio guide from the reception. the tickets are not expensive especially if you have the tourist card from your hotel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So worth it! Awesome historical site.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Took two 21 year olds and they loved it! We all had a great time on this most interesting visit. Definitely not to be missed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purduewriter91
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were in Geneva on a business trip and had an extra day to sight see. We took the train from Geneva to Montreux. Once you're there, follow the pedestrian signs to the information office. Inside, they'll direct you to the footpath or where to pick up the bus. It was cold and pouring down rain, so we took the bus. Easy peasy. The castle itself is amazing. Get the audio tour. Well worth the $6. You can even climb the 70+ steps to the top of the keep! Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is an easy train ride from Geneva. Relatively inexpensive and you get to see all areas of the castle. Breathtaking views. It takes a couple of hours to go all the way through and then there are excellent shopping and lunch options in Montreux. Great day trip if you are in Geneva.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Chillon also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de Chillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Chillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chateau de Chillon to your Saves list