We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Christmas market” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercato di Natale di Montreux (Montreux Noel)

Mercato di Natale di Montreux (Montreux Noel)
Lungolago, Montreux, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Shopping in Montreux
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We caught a train from Geneva to Montreux and went to the Christmas market. It was great for having a relaxed look around and there plenty of gifts to look at. We enjoyed the hot wine and crepes! A short walk from the station, it is easy to find. The mountains make a beautiful backdrop. A very relaxing day out. Make sure you go on the big wheel for some excellent views of lake Geneva and the market. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    5
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you're around just simply stop by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Amazing experience although we're not new to Xmas markets around Europe which are always nice, romantic and meaningful .
This one is much more than that and if you want really find out just go there and live the magic atmosphere, breath the sparkling air of Leman Lake under the snow, talk with people coming from every remote corner of the world, taste typical local food such as Tartiflette or Rosti drinking hot flavoured wine. Just one recommendation : do not waste your money and time by taking the train to go for visiting Saint Nicolaus village and house because it's costly and meaningless ! Even kids were disappointed and sad

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The market is greatly organized. Everything is so festive! There are vendors selling Christmas accessories & toys as well as the ones serving traditional food & drinks! The atmosphere is so joyful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth a day trip - lots of pretty stalls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were enticed by the Christmas Markets to visit Montreux for a weekend. In fact we could have seen the markets in one day but we still enjoyed it. We staying in the Grand Hotel Swiss Majestic which was perfectly situated so we could pop in and out. The market stall are along the lake front and it's a beautiful setting. With two children, it was definitely more pleasant in the daytime before the crowds arrived. The stalls were beautifully decorated and sold many beautiful items - glass, ceramics, woollens, soaps etc. There's a ferris wheel that gives a panoramic view of the lake and mountains. There was a great atmosphere at night but also the crowds and drinking made is more difficult to navigate with small children. We enjoyed the hot cider and crepes.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Xmas market in Montreaux is really well organised and with a lot of interesting things from all around the world ( food, handmades, etc.).
The location on the lake make the difference!
Specially during week end the reccomandation is to go by train since Montreaux is not so big to welcome all the Bus and cars arriving from everywhere in Europe.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato di Natale di Montreux (Montreux Noel) also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Mercato di Natale di Montreux (Montreux Noel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercato di Natale di Montreux (Montreux Noel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.