We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOW TO DELIGHT THE GUEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Montreux Palace

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Le Montreux Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Claude Nobs 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Montreux
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“HOW TO DELIGHT THE GUEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

From the moment we entered the hotel, we were treated like royalty. The "receptionist" also showed us to our room (hurriedly changed as we were early, but it was not a problem for them), and greeted us by name from then on. The room was faultless and the view was, well, how can being on the edge of the lake of Geneva at sunset and sunrise be anything less than perfect. The only letdown of the weekend was the lack of atmosphere and service for the Sunday brunch. Even so, I still give an overall rating of excellent, which is rare for me as anyone who reads my reviews will know.There is always room for improvement. In this case only the breakfast, i.e. the Sunday brunch. The food was plenty and good, but the restaurant was completely lacking in atmosphere and our waitress had clearly mastered the art of looking busy while avoiding the customer. A shame that this let down the rest of the stay. The welcome and facilities in the spa are the best we have ever experienced - friendly, relaxing and a wonderful complement to our stay.

Room Tip: A lake view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    94
    37
    20
    8
See reviews for
87
261
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

On this visit both check-in and check-out were processed fast and efficiently, compared to the often slow handling I'd encountered before.

The receptionist accompanied me to my room and offered to make a dinner reservation for me somewhere, and generally staff were even more solicitous than usual - perhaps this was just a quiet time, but I'll give them the benefit of the doubt.

I got one of the recently renovated rooms on the 3rd floor, spacious and bright with three windows, a large desk, a relaxing space with armchairs, and the biggest marble bathroom I've yet seen in this hotel.

Room service was great - they changed my order without a fuss when I realized they hadn't asked me how I wanted the burger cooked and they said it only came well done - I got a delicious blue fillet steak still within the allotted 20 minutes.

So yes it's expensive but I'll go again, both for the amenities and the location.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

great staff, friendly service, big recently renovated rooms ( with thick doors really blocking out the noise from the hall, which is something you get less and less ! ) with good size bathrooms. Good food, great location. I am quick to mention when things go wrong, here it is hard to find fault if only maybe the prices, but that depends on everyone !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisele S, Responsable relations publiques at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to write such a nice comment concerning your recent stay at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace.

We are striving for excellence in all areas of the hotel and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

With view of Lake Geneva, this is a hands down gorgeous hotel. We were content just laying in bed and staring out past our balcony windows into the view of the lake and mountains beyond!

Not sure if the renovations are done yet, but make sure you ask for the refurbished rooms (we were there with a wedding party and one of my friends who was in an older room said that it was extremely dated and felt damp).

The hotel has a lake-view lawn where you can sunbathe and relax. The Petit Palais restaurant is a bit of an inconvenience to get to (you have to go outdoors and cross the street), but again, it has an unbeatable view!

In a world where many hotels are charging extra for wifi, Fairmont Le Montreux gets brownie points with me for offering wifi for free!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisele S, Responsable relations publiques at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words describing your recent stay with us. Your comment has been passed on to all staff concerned.

Unfortunately you have not been informed that you can access our Willow Stream Spa directly through the tunnel and I have informed our Front Office Manager immediately to make sure that all guests receive the information.

And, also for your information, our rooms renovation will go on this year !

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Definitely on our top 3 best places we have visited.. a beautiful place, very royal, confortable, beautiful view, amazing rooms, great SPA and the restaurant was impressive! We had a special offer than so we got a great deal but this place is worth any penny spent on even with full price..

Room Tip: Lake view rooms and upper floors for a better view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent in the hotel only one night, but it was the most amazing stay we ever had! We got engaged! He asked me and I said "YES". We would like to say one more time a big "Thank you" to the hotel staff, especially Guest Relation Manager David and Housekeeping and Room Service Team, which made our room into a fairy tale :) Everywhere were rose petals, candels, music, Champagne and a cake in the form of heart was so delicious!!!
Thank you very much, we will never forget this night at the Fairmont Le Palace and we will of course come back again :)

Room Tip: the lake view is just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having skied for most of my life and also having had the chance to start in some of the worlds best hotels, I am amazed that has taken till 2014 to combine the two!!!!! A wonderful time skiing and then TWO perfect days of rest and recovery and beautiful scenery to replenish the body and rejuvenate the soul! I LOVE the combination and cannot recommend enough a visit to the MP and the Willow Spa overlooking Lake Geneva and the Mountains! We will do again and again and again! Also the BEST beds i have ever slept in! xx

Room Tip: Must have a lake view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Le Montreux Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Montreux Palace

Address: Avenue Claude Nobs 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Le Montreux Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau Hotel set on the shore of Lake Geneva, 300 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Le Montreux Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace Hotel Montreux
Fairmont Montreux
Le Montreux Palace
Montreux Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.