We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, Perfect hotel for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ermitage au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ermitage au Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Ermitage au Lac
Rue du Lac 75, Montreux 1820, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Montreux B&B and Inns
michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Perfect hotel for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in the "Villa" room at L'Ermitage during our visit to Montreux. The Villa was very spacious. It's located separately from the main building. There is a living room, dining room, master bedroom, another sitting room off of the master bedroom with a pull out couch, and a nice balcony. Then there is also an annex where there is another bedroom and living room. This room would be perfect for families with older children. It fit the 4 of us very comfortably. I think even a family of 6 to 8 would have plenty of room. Breakfast is included in the price. The hotel is located in Clarens which is just a short walk to Montreux or short tram ride to Vevey. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. The staff waswonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for the Villa if travelling with a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed three nights at this hotel and were appalled by the terrible service. The cost of the room was expensive but the standard more like a bed and breakfast. One of the two lights in the bathroom needed a new bulb and it was hard to see to make up or shave. Despite three requests it was not replaced. The beds were uncomfortable and the switches for the bedside lights were too far away from the bed so you had to get out of bed to turn them off. FIVE times staff entered our room without knocking. On the day of departure I was scalded by the shower which went cold then burning hot.
After informing the receptionist on checking out he did not even apologise but just said he would get it fixed !!
The breakfast was poor with no menu and few choices. The one evening meal was extortionate $75-80 for an hors d'oeuvre and over $100 for a main course. They then had the liberty of charging $8.00 for a cup of tea.
They may be a gourmet restaurant but obviously have a very high opinion of themselves which is more important than their guests.
I have e mailed the hotel to complain but have not even had a reply.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e.krebs, Manager at Hotel Ermitage au Lac, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Google Translation
Chers clients,
Permettez-nous de répondre à votre réclamation :
1) ampoule dans la salle de bains : suite à votre remarque nous avons changé l'ampoule qui avait sauté. Mais il y avait un mauvais contact : elle s'allumait et s'éteignait ensuite. Dès qu'on la touchait, elle se rallumait. C'était un dimanche soir, nous avons appelé l'électricien tout de suite le lundi matin. Avec un hôtel de 7 chambres, nous n'avons pas d'électricien à demeure.
La salle de bains restait toutefois éclairée
2) Nous mettons à disposition des pancartes à fixer sur la porte : "ne pas déranger".
Si vous ne mettez pas cette pancarte et si vous ne répondez pas quand les femmes de chambres frappent pour faire la chambre, elles pensent que vous êtes absents et elles rentrent. Comment leur en vouloir ?
3) Vous parlez à plusieurs reprises des prix du restaurant et n'avez même pas testé la cuisine. Notre restaurant a une étoile Michelin et 17/20 au Gault Millau. Nous travaillons avec des produits de première qualité, d'où un certain prix. Vous n'avez pas été sensible aux confitures maisons, aux viennoiseries, au jus de pommes fermier, aux fromages d'alpage, que nous proposons au petit déjeuner. Certes, avec 7 chambres, nous n'avons pas de buffet comme dans les palaces.
4) "Echaudé par la douche" : nous étions tellement surpris de votre remarque car nous n'avons jamais eu une telle réclamation. Nous avons testé et contrôler le degré de l'eau : impossible de se brûler sans faire une mauvaise manipulation ! Nous en avons parlé aux autres clients, personne n'a relevé le moindre problème.
Nous regrettons de n'avoir pas pu vous donner satisfaction car nous ne ménageons pas nos efforts. Nous avons heureusement de nombreux clients fidèles qui apprécient les hôtels à échelle humaine avec leurs avantages mais aussi leurs inconvénients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Hotel L'Ermitage in Clarens-a suburb of Montreux- is a beautiful property situated on the shore of Lac Leman. My wife and I had visited this hotel/restaurant ~12 years ago; and I am happy to say that the quality and comfort of our stay on this visit was equally fine. In fact, the lunch we had at the hotel's restaurant was more delicious than our previous meal so many years ago. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and is outstanding! isabelle Krebs continues to oversee the front desk with a kind and hospitable wisdom that comes with many years of experience. Because Switzerland is currently so expensive for us Americans, a property such as L'Ermitage may be too costly for many travelers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay at your beautiful hotel on our recent trip around Europe on the above mentioned date. We travelled to your hotel from our overnight stay at a hotel in France. Unfortunately my wife was suffering from food poisoning after eating at the previous hotel in France. Upon arrival at your hotel I found the staff to be very helpful particularly as my wife was really ill at this time and they just couldn,t do enough for us to make sure my wife was as comfortable as possible. We were due to eat in your beautiful restaurant that evening but as my wife was still very poorly and at the last minute I cancelled the booking and had my meal in my room. The staff were very understanding and nothing appeared to be to much trouble for them. The meal was fantastic. The staff who delivered my meal were again very helpful checking to see if my wife required anything to help her anything from water to some rice, just so thoughtful and genuinely concerned. It is not often you find a quality hotel both in terms of the hotel itself and the staff employed but you can be extremely proud of both your hotel and staff. My stay at this hotel was probably a lot more memorable for me than my wife but I have made a decision to return to this hotel for our wedding anniversary at the start of March next year when hopefully she to will be able to enjoy this fantastic hotel !

  • Liked — great food with great service
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London W.8.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

A very friendly welcome to this 7 bedroom restaurant with rooms. The house itself is rather old fashioned and tired but immaculately clean, and the bathrooms are very good and well equipped. A generous basket of fresh fruit was in our room, and the towels were replaced when the beds were turned down. The service is very good and helpful. The food is delicious, the waiters were all very well informed and the sommeliers extremely helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect - on the very edge of the lake with just a pedestrian path between it and the water. Should we have reason to return to Montreux, we wouldn't hesitate to repeat our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2005

I was eager to try this hotel because of its location right on the promenade and away from the crowds, and because of the charm of its building. But I was disappointed in the furnishings and décor of the room and with some of the facilities.

I stayed here on a trip with my mother, and we splurged for the big double room with the big terrace overlooking the restaurant and the lake. Well, that was a big mistake as the noise and chatter from the diners below kept us awake until past midnight. If you stay here in the summer, be sure to get a room off to the side!

The room’s furnishings are in bamboo and bright fabrics, which doesn’t seem to fit the house or the area. The fabrics also look a bit worn. In the bathroom, the huge bathtub is set squarely in the middle of the room, flanked by a dramatic palm tree, but the steps up to the tub get too slippery too easily, and the towel rack is too far away to reach. It’s clearly not set up for convenience . . .

I also wish there was a regular bar or lounge on the property. When I asked for a glass of wine, the staff cheerfully set out a glass and a chair for me, but I wasn’t comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2001
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2004

Ideally located on the lake shore, this tiny hotel would be fantastic if the chef and owner had a more realistic idea of his talent which is real but inconstant, whatever he may think. His wife is supposed to welcome customers but fails to recognize them thereafter, which is totally inacceptable.
Otherwise, I must say that the rooms tend to be a bit small, are rather simple with painted rattan furniture, winter garden style, but comfortable with a magnificent view over the lake. They represent undoubtedly the strong point for this quite irritating hotel : potentially ideal but bu foiled by inconstant cuisine and indifferent behaviour from the owners

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ermitage au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ermitage au Lac

Address: Rue du Lac 75, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is the most beautiful site on the shores of lake of Geneva ? Once you have stayed with us and eaten in our restaurant, you will know the answer. It is not easy task to describe the beauty of the environment surrounding our garden and terrace on the very banks of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ermitage au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ermitage au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.