We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Montreux” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Palace au Lac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Palace au Lac to your Saves list
Eden Palace au Lac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Theatre 11, Montreux 1820, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Montreux
Montreux
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“In the heart of Montreux”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance to the casino and the lake. The rooms are typical swiss,kept very old fashioned. The room temperature could have been a bit higher as it was very cold at night. The check in and check out was quick and truly professional!A young colored receptionist upgraded me to a room with lake view, a view that is absolutely breathtaking! He showed that he cares about the guests and proved to be a true hotelier! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    146
    74
    52
    37
See reviews for
89
174
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We travel as a group visiting Swiss and special the fantastic Lace. The hotel is in the center of Monteux, close location to our visiting places.BUT is very old and need refreshment !!!The room was clean and the staff very helpfull.We had a dinner on 31st and was nothing special without any dishes for the day as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel is in the center of Montreux, a good location allowing you to explore most on foot incl. the Christmas Market. Spent just a single night here, so didnt see much more from the hotel then what I describe below. The hotel is older and in need of a refreshment or modernization. The room was adecquate size, the bed large and very comfortable. Floors a bit squeaky, but luckily I was there at a quieter time so slept very well. The bathroom was a bit strange, a very long and narrow room with sink, shower and bathtub all side by side and only just enough space to walk in front from one to the other. Luckily I was alone this trip, with more people you would have conflict I magine. Breakfast was in a large high ceilinged room that reminded my a bit of a factory hall with when I arrived many used tables, not cleaned up yet giving the impression of a war-zone, not so appealing. At check out I then ended up having to argue with the person at reception about my charges which ended up with trying to get the manager, who wasn't on site and then me leaving the premises and getting charged for the overstated amount regardless of my arguments. After some subsequent correspondance this was then settled in my favor and a refund made, but it did not impress me from a customer service perspective. Maybe just the wrong moment but...I stayed at this hotel the last time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We only had one night, but were knocked out by the style and class of this place. The rooms were charming and the views of the lake fantastic. The double room doors ensure a good night's sleep.

Only downside is that it is a bit of a hike to the railway station with heavy cases.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for Lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed in this hotel one night in the room with lake view. It definitely worth it to pay a little extra for such upgrade as view is simple magnificent! Room is rather spacious and nice classic design, but unfortunately no tea/coffee making facilities which you normally expect from a 4 star hotel. However when we asked at reception, kettle was brought in our room quickly and we could enjoy cup of coffee on the balcony. Breakfast was not a great variety but good quality. Overall very nice experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view, it's a must for this location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for 5 night break from christmas eve to today, saturday 29th. Hotel looks lovely, yes dated furniture etc but this is part of the attraction. Great friendly staff, good unobtrusive service and great location for exploring. Lovely breakfast. Consistently good service. Would stay again. Great hotel for travelling with a small child. Made use of the swimming pool and fitness area at the Excelsior which is free for guests. Would recommend.

Sergey, Jane and Andrei Naumkin

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agios Konstantinos, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights. Excellent location. The hotel staff were very welcoming and kind, the deluxe lakeview room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was quite good. With some changes in the furniture the hotel could be perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Palace au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Palace au Lac

Address: Rue du Theatre 11, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Palace au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eden Palace au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Palace Au Lac Hotel Montreux
Eden Palace Au Lac Montreux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Palace au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.