We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rochers-de-Naye

Rochers-de-Naye
Montreux, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Attractions in Montreux
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Mountains, Landmarks
Attraction details
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We caught the cog wheeled train to Rocher-de-Naye and it is well worth a visit. Absolutely fantastic views of the lake and the surrounding mountains. We stopped at Caux which was also very pretty with great views. We visited at the end of the day and the sunsets were amazing. Can't wait to visit again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    61
    19
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is so worth seeing. The train up the mountain is amazing, the views to die for. It makes you very appreciative and peaceful. It is so breathtaking you cant describe it. The restuarant was basic at the top but the food was nice. There are Yurts at the top, it must be amazing to stay in them in the summer. We went up November and there was a foot of snow which was an experience. Go if you are in this area of Switzerland. We got a 4 day Swiss pass and went all over it was well worth it as the children were free and you can catch buses, metros, trains and boats.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Kids love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Bit of a mission but you've got to do it once. I think they could do a lot more with the Xmas village.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Breath-taking...literally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a great experience! Thankfully it was a clear morning and we took the first available train up to avoid any cloud cover that may role in as day goes on. We used our Montreux card to discount our tickets. The cogwheel train was a nice part of the experience and quite full both ways. There are lovely views all the way up/down.

On arrival, we decided to walk up the rocky path to the viewing platform. Well, maybe it was our shoes or our lack of outdoor activity skill, but it was quite challenging...lots of laughs along the way. The view from the platform was completely worth it. So beautiful, so peaceful. Walking down was just as challenging but can be down, just take care.

We then walked around the other area but did not have time to visit the garden as we wanted to catch the next train back down.

It was a great experience, definitely recommend!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“the price : 200 CHF for a 3 hour trip!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We wanted to do this trip with the train but when we got to the ticket office at the station we were well put off by the price 66 CHF per person (we were a family of 3), I think 200 swiss francs for a 3 hour trip is too expensive.
The cashier asked if we had discount coupons..where should we have found those then??
Maybe our (4 star) hotel didn't have enough stars to provide us with such coupons..?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rochers-de-Naye also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Rochers-de-Naye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochers-de-Naye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.