We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you choose Tralala be ready to climb” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tralala Hotel Montreux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tralala Hotel Montreux to your Saves list
Tralala Hotel Montreux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Temple 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you choose Tralala be ready to climb”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

It takes about 15 minutes to climb to the hotel or you have take a taxi ( which is very expensive) there is also a bus going to the hotel but not at night times and sundays...
There is no wardrobe in the rooms no refrigerator and no air-co..
The german receptionist is very helpfull.
The room looks more like to a hostel room than three stars..
If you want to stay in Montreux i recommend to stay in downtown.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    126
    39
    12
    3
See reviews for
35
114
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Expect a uphill trek from the train station to the hotel, but in the end it was all worth it. We had packed light hence we took the challenge to walk uphill for about 20 mins which was quite scenic, but alternatively bus no 206 would directly take you to the hotel door. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Allain at the front desk who was very helpful and knowledgeable. He offered us juice/wine and also fulfilled our request when we asked for a room with a view (Once again thank you allain). Would recommend this hotel if you are fine climbing the hill (very relaxing and excellent views once there)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I called on my way into town this was Lonely planets top choice in Montreux, I was lucky enough to reserve the last room. When I arrived I was warmly greeted and found a modern and funky place, the reception person was very helpful and knowledgeable,I was offered a glass of wine.and was then shown to my room which was on the 3rd floor on a corner, it overlooked the neighborhood and also the street which was very nice although a little noisy until later in the evening .My room was modern and spotless during my three night stay it was tended to each day. Breakfast was included in my room price and I did have a little trouble figuring out the set up in the dining area .Parking is also a bit of a challenge but I usually found a spot within a couple of minutes walk and it was always nice walking through very hilly old area ,I would say the setting and location are great and I had a feeling of really being in a special place ,I discovered a charming bakery just around the corner.When it was time to move on I found I was sad to leave this lovely Hotel and area,I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

From the train station to the hotel, expect an uphill trek. You need transportation, unless you are backpacking and traveling light. A short walk from the hotel leads to scenic Lake Geneva.

I arrived early, and my room wasn't quite ready. However, upon arrival, all guests receive an offer of coffee, tea or wine. I enjoyed my no charge glass of wine, and pleasantly endured a very short wait before I could rid myself of my luggage. I also received a free bus pass, good throughout my stay, which came in handy the day I left, to return to the train station. By the way, the design of Swiss buses makes taking luggage on and off easy.

Clearly thought out hotel policies provide guests with niceties that create an "I'm special" feeling. Stellar place to stay. One drawback, if you expect to eat at your hotel, the restaurant has limited selection, clearly pointed out by the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Someone booked the rooms for me so after a hearty walk up the hill found a quirky hotel in the middle of the old quarter, very friendly welcome and clean comfortable rooms - not much in the way of amenities but then this is Montreux and plenty to do elsewhere

Room Tip: Hotel reception / bar closes at 11.00 so dont get there late or ring ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The room was very good, in a modern little hotel. Reception personnel not as hospitable as was expected. The uphill to the hotel is near impossible, especially with any sort of luggage - a taxi is to be advised, but we weary of them taking advantage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, North Yorks
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived at the hotel, by car, parking is available, offered a glass of wine on arrival, then shown to our room on the second floor, very pleasant decor, we overlooked the street and there is a certain amount of road noise, but nothing to complain about, several restaurants are located in walking distance and the hotel is close to a very pleasant walk up the Gorge

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tralala Hotel Montreux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tralala Hotel Montreux

Address: Rue du Temple 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tralala Hotel Montreux 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the old Montreux (1 km from railway ; 0.5 km from the Leman lake), Tralala is a 1616 charming hotel 3 * entirely renovated in 2008 around the theme of music, typical characteristic of Montreux with its Jazz Festival. The Tralala offers a harmonious mix of comfort and elegance topped with a very warm ambiance. You will sleep emerged in sounds, thoughts and dreams from Prince, David Bowie, Igor Stravinsky or Alicia Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tralala Hotel Montreux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tralala Hotel Montreux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.