We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good crêpes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java

Java
Marterey 36, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
0041213213837
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Java is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #135 of 431 Restaurants in Lausanne
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good crêpes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Java is a nice place. I really like the atmosphere there. The two minor negative points is that the service is not super fast, and you are often seated awkwardly with not much room due to the weird setup of the place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    41
    26
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food with an outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We came here for the first time and liked the place immediately. The decoration and atmosphere is really great, exactly what you need after a long day at work :-)
The food was really tasty!

And the service was brilliant. The (only) 2/3 waiters were flying through the place making it look like efgortless and despite the pressure still taking care of everyone with loads of attention and a wonderful smile.
This is the perfect place for a tasty dinner with wonderfull surroundings :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it more than I did”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The cuisine is inventive and interesting, but for me it felt like it was the result of a young chef feeling his oats. The flavors were too strong and unbalanced--for example I had a buckwheat crepe filled with goat cheese and smoked salmon in which the salmon overwhelmed everything else. My wife's sea bass was excellent, but both of our salads were swimming in too much dressing. Too much of a good thing made me like this restaurant less than I wanted to. But we still tried dessert, and I am glad because the lemon dessert crepe was out of this world delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I like going there for a cafe. The food (except for salad, this place is famous for salad) were not super great for its price, but I like the atmosphere of this place a lot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely place,lovely food,must return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great place to have brunch. Food is great (those scrumbled eggs with tomato are delicious!), the place has personality, young friendly waiters, relaxed music. Particularly busy on sundays.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.