We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croix d'ouchy

Croix d'ouchy
Av. d'ouchy 43, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
21 616 22 33
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 411 Restaurants in Lausanne
Price range: $22 - $134
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I visited the restaurant due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor. We had a really good dinning experience. The service was perfect - everyone was friendly, explaining the French menu to us in English. The waiter refuse to recommend any dishes to us - because he said ALL the dishes were too good to miss.We had a wam salad ( grilled prawns) for entrees. It was really really good.

I had the crab spagetti and my friend ordered the truffle ravoli. Both were great. The only thing was that the dish came in 2 services - so half portion each time (so eachhalf portion is cooked at different timings so that the food can be kept fresh and warm!) . The half portion were quite big already so we were already stuffed at the end of the half portion. The waiter insisted on bringing the other half portion as it has already been prepared.

Overall, the food was really good, service was very pleasant. We'll definitely go there for dinner again. Maybe a portion to share next time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    58
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best risotto in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

try risotto du chef and swizz wine, nice place to have discussion

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect rissoto aux truffes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

traditional restaurant with very good cuisine. I strongly recommend the risotto aux truffes. The service is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Wonderful and excellent food !! Almost always two services.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Food the old- (good!-) fashioned way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Croix d'Ouchy is a favorite of local people and had been for years. Last time we were there though we were surrounded by Portuguese- (Brazilian) and English-speaking tables, proof that its notoriety spreads! It's a reliable place for lunch and dinner. There is the café side (wooden tables) and the restaurant side, more formal. The food is of Italian influence. It is one of few truly Italian restaurants in Lausanne (i.e. not Pizzerias). Go there especially in truffle season and for the wine list. There is a nice terrace although the cozy interior is more adapted to winter. Service is good, although we had to wait quite a bit for our main dish. The better value are to be obtained at lunch time when there is plat du jour. Ingredients are well-prepared, with serious use of butter and cream, therefore delicious! And one very old-fashioned tradition: you get two servings, which for small appetites can be a bit much. The only (negative) surprise: the bread served was not very fresh.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croix d'ouchy also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Croix d'ouchy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croix d'ouchy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.