We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Grancy

Cafe de Grancy
av. du Rond-Point 1, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
21 616 86 66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 461 Restaurants in Lausanne
Cuisines: French, Swiss, Fondue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have made Cafe de Grancy a part of our regular rotation in Lausanne. Always very good food and a casual, comfortable environment.
The risotto is my personal favorite and they have some nice wines by the glass at reasonable prices.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    165
    57
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I regularly go to Cafe de Grancy for Sunday brunches, kitchen is very nice, the crew is friendly. It is a must go place in Lausanne

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Famous cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I went there because everybody keeps talking about it being really famous place!
It was only 1 min walk from the exit(side of Ouchy) from the station.
As it was very busy on weekend and they did not take reservation, we had to wait to find a spot and it took forever for the waitress to notice us, but it's really great atmosphere and I really enjoyed this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok place to have a drink half the time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the first place we came across to get a drink while walking from train station towards the Lake. It looks like a nice place to grab a drink and snack from the outside and the inside is nice too. The first time we went there we were acknowledged pretty quick and then the waiter came by shortly after we got seated and had time to look at the menu to take our order. We just got some cappuccinos and tea which were ok. We went again the next day and sat at a table near the front door but did not get acknowleged at all for several minutes and decicded to just leave and find someplace else because we wanted to catch a train in an hour anyway. Good atmosphere though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nice place with friendly environment for kids also..small library with kid's books and toys for the little ones..nice plates for snacks and great salads..
What needs improvement? Stuff must respect that not all guests speak French..is not a big deal to be more open to non-speaking French guests..So i ask the stuff not to get upset if someone orders in English..
Cappuccino needs improvement rapidly! Its not difficult..
Prices are high as usual..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Grancy also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Cafe de Grancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de Grancy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.