We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Du Port

Restaurant Du Port
Pl Du Port 5, Lausanne CH-1006, Switzerland
021 612 04 44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 431 Restaurants in Lausanne
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Individual menu not the same as the rest. If you come in hunting season they serve game. Restaurant is not just an after thought to the hotel (which is ok)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    39
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Traditional, delicious, lake view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Lake view dining, delicious perch and potatoes and lemon sauce, yummy avocado tartare starter and -- exquisite profiteroles! Nice service, and staff didn't insist on speaking English but tolerated my French. Eating alone, I was reading (under the table) on my iPad, and the delivery was perfectly timed so I wasn't rushed. Not cheap, but well-priced for the location and quality. Local wines, including a Swiss Pinot Noir (what, I can't remember). Appeared to be a place where locals might go for a special meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Get the Perch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Du Port, so the restaurant was very convenient.
I had read about the perch with the lemon sauce, so knew I wanted to try it. It was delicious! The avocado tartare appetizer was so good, I'd like to serve it to guests. The veal with mushroom gravy, rice, and vegetables was also tasty. The profiteroles were amazing, too. It was a great dinner! We enjoyed a beautiful view of the lake as we dined.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Filet de Perche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Three of us lunched in this comfortable restaurant with a beautiful view of the lake yesterday. The service was friendly, efficient and professional, yet relaxed and leisurely. We all had the filet de perche meunière with different sauces, a favourite dish eaten in many lake restaurants over the years, and all agreed that the large portion of the delicious filets, accompanied by an equally generous portion of French fries, were as good as we had tasted. With the bonus of the sun it was a lunch to be remembered

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagano, Japan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good sea-food. Great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Location is great, just opposite the lake.
The fish dish in this place is very good.
Service is not great, but reasonable.
Price is just a bit high, not too much, but that is because the location, I suppose.
Will come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Du Port also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Restaurant Du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Du Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.