We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting mix of Italian/Swiss food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Balsamico

Osteria Balsamico
Avenue d'Ouchy 14 | Croisement Avenue d'Apples, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
+41 21 616 01 21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 411 Restaurants in Lausanne
Price range: $21 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: We speak English
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting mix of Italian/Swiss food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were guests of a very nice couple last night at this relatively new restaurant in Lausanne.
It was rather quiet but that didn't matter as the owner was extremely friendly.
I'm not sure it was exactly what I was expecting of an Italian restaurant but I can highly recommend the Cerf.
Very pleasant Red wine from the Valais but I believe there was a lack of Rose wine on the list.
However,on a busy night I would imagine there would be more atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    25
    13
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A new restaurant, well run, excellent service and delicious food. What always makes the difference is superb ingredients, and they have them. Sauteed mushrooms, beef filet, various pastas, all excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Read this to decide to go or not.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is proof that italian food is more than thirty pizzas toppings and four pasta sauces.

We ate dishes we didn't even know existed, in combinations that take a lot of confidence to serve at a restaurant. Especially when you consider that there are only a handful of dishes on the menu - even then, it was tough to settle for one entrée (I couldn't afford two main dishes, but happy to say I was satisfied with the one I chose).

The owner said the menu changes every three months. It's remarkable that the place stands out from the long list of italian restaurants in Lausanne - food, hospitality, decoration, drinks. Ostario serves the best italian food in the neighbourhood. I'd recommend going, no doubt.

We'll go back in three months, when the next menu is out, and my wallet permits two desserts and more drinks on the terrace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Lausanne and found the only negative the high cost of food. We searched for quality restaurants that were not excessively expensive. The Osteria Balsamico met that criterion. We had a wonderful dinner sitting outside--luckily the street repair was not going on. If it had been, we would have enjoyed the attractive interior. We had a wonderful first course followed by pasta dishes. The service was friendly and efficient. The wait person gave us excellent advice about local wines.

If you're looking for a restaurant that is not pretentious but serves excellent food, don't overlook this one.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monza
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were in this place
and we found autenthic italian food
,nice people and atmosphere.
I really suggest to test it!
Good quality/price ratio

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Balsamico also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Osteria Balsamico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Balsamico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.