We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Lausanne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Theatre
Avenue du Theatre 12, Lausanne, Switzerland
41 78 721 30 59
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 461 Restaurants in Lausanne
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Lausanne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I visited Lausanne recently on the way back from skiing in verbier and a friend who lives in Switzerland recommended this restaurant and i have to say the food was fantastic.
Me and my boyfriend shared a pizza to start and it was so surprising to find a pizza that good outside of Italiy. They have an authentic woodfired over which was very impressive and the flavours in the sauce were as good as a pizza can get. I had the Tuna salad next which was incredibly fresh and tasty followed by the sole which was absolutely amazing. The waiter was helpful with suggestions, very friendly and spoke good English. The wine list was impressive and we opted for a delicious local bottle.
We visited on a Saturday night and the atmosphere was buzzing as there was a show on in the neighbouring theatre.
As it was winter the terrace was closed but I got a glimpse from the window and it is an idilic setting which looks perfect for a summers evening. If i am ever in the area again I will definitely go back. I would definitely reccommend this restaurant to anyone, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“poor service for an expensive meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went for my first dinner in Switzerland, as a welcome to the swiss cuisine. Honestly, I won't return. The food was okish nothing special, but the service was far form being nice. A rude waiter almost inviting us o leave. It is so quiet that you are even scare to laugh. So no relax dinner at all plus hundreds of francs... I prefer a more warm atmosphere, and not ice cutting one, but this is a matter of taste.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersin, Turkey
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
4,354 helpful votes 4,354 helpful votes
“A nice summer dinner in the garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a nice summer evening dinner in the big garden of this restaurant where we ate italian pizza and italian wine.the food quality was good and the service was good and efficient. As Lausanne citizens like to dine outside in summer nights all the tables in the garden were full.
the food quality and the wine choice was good and the prices were reasonable,The atmosphere under big trees in the garden was good.all the tables in the garden were full,therefore reservation is recommended.in winter time you seat inside in the big hall of the restaurant.reservation is recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plumpton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely outside space and busy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very busy restaurant with the excellent outside terrace full. Maybe we were unlucky but.......our main courses arrived before our starters so we sent them away of course. Then one starter arrived and nothing more. we waited but when it was obvious nothing else was coming we called the waiter, it was a further 7 minutes before we both had food. The final piece was that when the wine arrived they broke the cork trying to open the bottle - really hope this was a one off, otherwise avoid! Did they apologise - yes, did they reduce the bill? Well - they did not charge us for 1 coffee, frankly insulting. Will not rush back - we can all have a bad day but service really let the place down. There are better places to eat in Lausanne.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savigny, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“For business and pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent French-Italian cuisine centrally located (salads, pizza's on wood-fire, fish, meat, seasonal specialties). Go there for business luncheons (every palette and diet conscientious will be satisfied), go there with friends, go there after the theater, go there for the cozy terrace in summer. Professional service with a smile. Booking necessary. A very good value in Lausanne.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Theatre also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Le Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.