We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Student Setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lausanne Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lausanne Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Lausanne Youth Hostel
Chemin du Bois-de-Vaux 36, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb Student Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Its mostly a very good place if you are someone looking for a few days of cheap stay in Laussane. Its decently priced and serves good on a student budget. The rooms are nice and clean and so are the bathrooms. However, to be noted that the bathrooms are the size of cupboards. The location is central, not far from the lake. The bus stop is across the street and you manage connecting buses to Ouchy or EPFL quite effectively. The location being pretty and lake at a walkable distance make it ideal if you are someone who loves nature and prefers jogs around the place. There is a pub sorts nearby for outside food. The establishment provides a decent breakfast, although a vegetarian might be slightly disappointed. Internet is free but the signal is bleak in most areas apart from the main reception. There is a pool table and stuff to keep you engaged.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
6
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

While I wouldn't go so far as to say it was terrible, my experience staying for 3 weeks in this hostel made me excited to move on to a different location. For starters, the building that it's in is basically made of a bunch of concrete slabs without any character whatsoever. The rooms are quite dark, with small windows, and the electric lights never emit more than a warm glow. There is also no ventilation in the rooms, which made them become very stuffy even with -10 degree temperatures outside, and in summer, would probably make staying there a nightmare. There are no self-catering facilities, and no supermarkets close by. It's location isn't great either. While it was ok for me, because I was doing a course at the local University which is about a 10 minute walk, the rest of the city is a good 40 minutes away by foot, and all uphill (to get there from the station, take the Metro M1 to Bourdonette, then catch bus 25 for 2 stops to Bois de Vaux). While some members of staff were quite nice, others were quite rude to those who couldn't speak French (not me, fortunately). Breakfast was quite good by Youth Hostel standards though, with a wide spread of cereals, breads, yoghurt, cold meat and cheese. Overall, while not the best experience, there was nothing so terrible that made me want to leave immediately. I would advise checking other options before booking here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

As I had to go to Lausanne last minute, my usual hotel was already fully booked and I had to find something on a budget. So I stayed in the Jeunotel for 5 days. Next time I'll gladly pay the extra 100 CHF/night, I guess.
The rooms are marginally clean, way too warm (without a good means to ventilate) and I had the luxury of feeling all the spirals in my bed during all the night (very worn-out mattress). Added to that, the walls were as sound-proof as a single sheet of cardboard. The showers and toilets were obviously old and worn; I suppose they were clean, but the floor was so discolored that I was unable to tell whether it was just wear or something more disturbing. Supposedly there was free Wifi, but I never encountered it. The staff varied from being helpful to completely indifferent.
The only good things I encountered were the breakfast, which was simple, but quite decent and the free public transport-pass.

All in all it was quite expensive as well, as the base tariff is 40 CHF/night, with a surcharge of 6 CHF/night if you aren't a member of the YHA and an additional 2.50 tourist tax/night, you arrive at nearly 50 CHF/night. Considering the quality of my stay, my recommendation is: for a night, it might be okay, but don't stay here too long. If you can afford it, take a hotel, it costs a bit more, but at least you will sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I am sure it would be a fine jouthhostel in general.
However, the rooms are in summer just TOOOOOO hot. It is simply unbearable when temperatures rise outside to 30 degrees. The windows are extremely small and close to the roof which is about 3,5 meters high. No chance to moove the hot air out of the room. Just sweat!

- The rooms in the modern building are small, but functional.
- close to the lake :-), by bus / metro ca. 20 min. to city center
- public transport is included in the price
- breakfast included: fine,but nothing special

- Man / women share same bathroom which is not appreciated by all guests. Privacy?
- It is a large building, rather unpersonal and not much athmosphere. There are better choices availablein Lausanne

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

This place has the charm of a prison, and beds to match. Our room had not been cleaned from the prior guests and there was rotting food in the closets. It has a serious institutional vibe with metal frame beds and concrete floors, walls, ceiling. We have stayed in many other hostels and this one was by far the worst. Long way from train station, but close to the lake. Lots of students here--that's ok, but expect a bit of noise in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I think if you are travelling with someone it's best to avoid hostels - it's simply cheaper to stay in a hotel. This place was very clean, cool, and crowded - a busy international crowd. the dorms are not co-ed, so my gf suffered through sleeping with a bunch of loud party girls, I slept like a champ. don't linger too long on the lake, head south to Lugano, or Como, simply gorgeous spots in south Switzerland, and Northern Italy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed at Lausanne Youth Hostel for two weeks, while attending a conference at a local university. The university granted my colleagues and me a discounted rate of 30 Swiss Francs per night, which was an excellent deal compared to hotel options in Lausanne. The accommodations were unbeatable for the price.

The hostel rooms that I saw consisted of three single beds or two single beds and one bunk bed. Rooms were either male or female. There were also options to have private single or double rooms, but these rooms cost more per night. Some of the rooms had windows without screens, and it was very warm and humid during our stay...We would leave our window open through the night, but mosquitoes would come in and bite us, leaving us itchy in the morning!

Bathrooms were also male or female, and the female bathrooms consisted of two bathroom stalls, two shower stalls, and one long sink with three faucets. Bathrooms were generally clean, which many of us appreciated. Be sure to bring your own towel to bathe with, but if you forget, towels can be rented at the front desk for 2 Swiss Francs.

The buffet breakfast, served every morning from approximately 7:00am to 10:00am included bread, jam, corn flakes, oatmeal, cold milk, yogurt, ham, cheese, orange juice and coffee. I believe that the cafeteria also served lunch and dinner daily, but this is not included. Dinner was usually 16.50 Swiss Francs.

The common area of the hostel provided guests with a pool table (not sure how much this was), a vending machine with sandwiches (about 6 Swiss Francs) and snacks, ice cream (3 Swiss Francs), and a bar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages. There were also two pay phones and two computers with internet access (1 Swiss Franc for 10 minutes). In addition, there were laundry facilities on site. You could rent a laundry room with a washer and dryer for a half day for 7 Swiss Francs.

As a side note, if you are traveling on a budget, there is a gas station down the street from hostel, where you can purchase snacks (pretzels and chips), as well as bread, pre-packaged deli meat, fruit, drinks, sandwiches, salads, and yogurt. The gas station also sells "Flash" calling cards, which are printed out on a receipt. The calling card for 20 Swiss Francs gave me 300 minutes to call the USA. Additionally, there are several grocery stores along the bus and metro lines (Migros and Co-Op) where you can purchase food and snacks.

There was a diverse crowd staying at the youth hostel over the two weeks that I was there. The guests included college students, parents with children, older backpackers, and younger teenagers attending some sort of youth camp. In general, the hostel was quiet at night, and we were able to rest and sleep soundly. However, some of the larger groups, particularly the youth camp, were loud in the evenings.

All hostel guests were provided with pass that allows for unlimited free access to the bus and metro for the duration of one's stay. This was great, as the bus and metro system was convenient and the free pass encouraged us to get out and explore the city. If you are planning to stay out late, especially at a club or bar, be mindful of when the public transportation stops running, or runs less frequently. I believe a "pajama" bus ran past midnight on weekends, but only every 2 hours or so, depending on your destination.

Lausanne is a great little city. It will help A LOT if you speak French. I would encourage visitors to take a boat cruise on Lake Geneva (from metro stop: Ouchy), enjoy an ice cream sundae at Movenpick (also at metro stop: Ouchy), and if you are there in the summer, find out where local festivals are being held.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lausanne Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausanne Youth Hostel

Address: Chemin du Bois-de-Vaux 36, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of Lausanne stands on a hill and has steep, narrow streets, so strong muscles are required, particularly for the uphill climb to the cathedral, the most important Gothic monument in Switzerland. Window-shop in the bric-a-brac and antique shops or take a breather in one of the numerous bistros and bars, or along the lovely promenade of the former fishing village of Ouchy, in the Musée de la Photographie, which is worth a visit, or at the Swiss Cinémathèque (with its picture archive of famous Europeans) or Olympic Museum (the only one in the world). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lausanne Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Jeunotel Hotel Lausanne
Youth Hostel Jeunotel Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lausanne Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.