We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in romandie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nandanam

Nandanam
Av. Louis-Ruchonnet 11, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
213122300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 431 Restaurants in Lausanne
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in romandie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nandanam comes with a punch to your palette and the flavours just knock you off.

Every single time we go there its a delight. Food well crafted, prepared fresh and the way its presented its highly recommended. Total total value for money.

Strongly recommended! Dont miss this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVE IT! My no. 1 resto in Lausanne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We live since 3.5 years in Lausanne and just now discovered Nandanam restaurant! Excellent food, warm reception and cozy déco, definitely a must-go around here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Indeed the Best Indian restaurant in the Whole of Lausanne!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The restaurant is located on the right side of the road when you are going by bus towards Gare.

You get off at the stop 'Villard' and walk for about a minute and you will see it.


The restaurant is small and cluttered. furniture is arranged tightly and it is always full in the evening.


The food is just great.

Well i don't know about the carnivorous dishes because i am a vegetarian, but the vegetarian thali is absolutely scruptious!!

it comes very fresh and hot and is delicious. you would get a portion of rice, some pickles, some papad, some vegetable curry.

i recommend that you order fresh NAAN (indian bread) and specially garlic naan... they are to die for.


in conclusion, after trying all the indian restaurants here, all are rubbish against this one.. the food is simply fresh and delicious ...

you must go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Favorite indian in Lausanne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Now let me start of by warning you that i've never step foot in India and don't know anything about their cuisine. That being said, i've always enjoyed indian food and was looking for a nice indian restaurant in Lausanne and finally found it.
I've been to Nandanam a couple of time, the last time being last week. The place definitely doesn't look like your typical indian restaurant and the interior design is very cute. The service was done by what seemed to be the owners and they were very nice. I ordered the vegetarian menu and found it delicious. My friend had the fish and loved his dish as well (he keeps telling me he wants to go back).
Now, although i've never been to india, i don't need to know all about their food to see that this restaurant has a fusion feel to it. The dishes don't look 100% authentic but as long as they taste great, i don't mind at all. My friends that know india don't dislike the food there, but they just think it's not authentic at all.
We both truly enjoyed our meals. The service was very fast, the food was great, the staff nice: what more to ask for?
The only downside is the locations. Not really the place where you go out in Lausanne but the restaurant is always packed so it seems that has no impact for them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would I go there again? No”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nandanam is a little Southern Indian restaurant located in Avenue Louis Ruchonnet near the train station. Thus, practically, any buses heading to the train station should take you there (or to the vicinity). The nearest tube/metro stop is Lausanne-Gare (alternatively, alight at Vigie and walk downhill).

We went there for lunch, without a reservation, and managed to find a seat without much waiting. The restaurant is very popular- it was packed and there were many waiting to be seated. The layout was crowded, with quaint wooden tables rather too close, with the ensuing probability that you might upset someone/something.

There was only one waiter (the owner/manager) and, thus, we had to wait for a while to be given the menu and for the food (although I was miffed that those who came later were attended to first).

A casual glance around (and as is evident on this page) showed that people were generally happy with the food. There are some things to clarify first: the cuisine was South Indian (with some attempts at North Indian food), specifically that of southern Kerala. Consequently, the flavour/taste/presentation wouldn't be that of what is generally considered as "Indian".
Secondly, being someone who knows this cuisine too well (being originally from that part of the country), I was sorely disappointed. There was just a handful of rice, 3 vegetarian curries, a pappadam, and a non-vegetarian option (prawn cooked in fish curry style). It didn't taste that well and I found it to be too little for too much and presented (and widely considered) as something extraordinary. To place my comments in context, this is similar to what a Chinese might comment when eating at a supposedly Chinese restaurant in Europe.

Would I go there again? No.

I would probably defer my cravings for my local food until I am in the UK (much better choices) or back home (where an excellent version of what I had for CHF 20ish could be had for < CHF 14 at a five-star hotel... or for 75 centimes at an average restaurant).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nandanam also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Nandanam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nandanam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.