We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near the train station for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elite to your Saves list
Hotel Elite
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Avenue Ste-Luce, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Lausanne
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good hotel near the train station for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Elite Hotel was pretty reasonable value in the very expensive Switzerland. The room was simple but was very clean and had everything we needed. I would recommend asking for a room on the top floor of the hotel on the front side when you book. They have distant views of the lake and a nicer outlook than those on the sides.

The location was good - very close to the train station but it is a very steep walk up a short hill to the hotel with your bags. The free public transport ticket was a bonus and was certainly needed to access the lakeside area.

Breakfast was fine. It had a reasonable selection of fresh bakery items, cereal, fruit, cold meats and cheeses.

Not a negative for us but I probably wouldn't stay here during the height of summer. The rooms have no airconditioning. We were there at the end of September and the rooms were very stuffy but they cooled off quickly once you opened the windows for a while.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room on the top floor of the hotel on the front side when you book. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    73
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
52
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel Elite is just a block away from the train station, and if you walk around the corner you're right in the middle of shops and restaurants and a short stroll from the old town. It's a bit of a hike to the waterfront, but still walkable. The rooms are fine but forgettable, small and clean like elsewhere in Switzerland. The breakfast is the usual mix of bread, cheese, and cereal. The staff were friendly and helped accommodate an early check-in for us. There is Wi-Fi available but you have to pay by the day. Overall the hotel won't "wow" you, but it's a nice base of operations for exploring the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We needed a place to stay for one night before catching an early morning train. The hotel is close to the train station and the walk up the hill is a challenge if you have luggage. The effort is worth it though. The hotel is on a quiet side street to the right after the trek up the hill. We reserved a room with air conditioning and it was a corner room on the top floor. Lots of windows and a large balcony overlooking Lake Geneva. The air conditioning didn't really cool the room well and the beds were quite firm but we did manage a restful sleep.

The hotel gave us a pass for the metro and good suggestions for looking around the city.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor, room with air conditioning during the warm months
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose this hotel as it provided parking and is not on a main street where it can be noisy due to the traffic. Our room was the superior twin. It was a fairly large room with comfortable beds but no AC, just a fan. We were fortunate that the temperature had dropped in the last few days, so sleeping was quite comfortable with the windows partially opened. Breakfast was adequate served in a charming breakfast room with attentive service. The staff were very helpful during our stay and this helped make our stay at this hotel memorable. Highly recommend this hotel if driving by car or coming by train.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked this hotel is mainly based on its location, just 5 minutes walk down the hill to the Lausanne Central train station. However, it requires more than 10 minutes to walk up the hill with luggages and it's a real challenge. Actually, another hotel Alpha Palmers is just in the midway and it's closer to the train station. The garden of the hotel is just a greenland, nothing special.

We checked in ths hotel last month and it's a really hot time. A dated room without air conditioner was assigned to us. It's a torture! Having complained about it, we'd been changed another room with air-conditioner. Oh, thank God! Thus, please make sure to reserve an air-conditioned room during the summer time. Otherwise, you'll get an unforgettable sauna experience definitely.

Breakfast quality is good even though variety is limited. Service is also good as well. Nearby the hotel, there're plenty of restaurants for dining. Looking for supermarket, you need to go down to the Train station. We found the retail price of Coop is more reasonable although price is cheaper in the supermarkets somewhere else.

Anyway, Hotel Elite is a clean 3 star hotel, but quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Everything is fine especially the English breakfast in very exquisite crockery.
As for the room, I think it all depend on which room you are given, some rooms are better with nicer window views. For location, it is very near to the main train station except you'd need to climb stairs uphill to it but anyways, most hotels in that area require climbing stairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Short but very steep uphill walk from station, then off to the right on a very quiet side street.

Charming and comfortable rooms, even the single room. No AC but fan in closet. Pleasant staff and perfectly adequate breakfast.

There is a charge for WiFi, but not excessive.

I woould certainly stay here again if I return to Lausanne.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite

Address: 1 Avenue Ste-Luce, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Lausanne
Cambria Suites Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.