We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regina to your Saves list
Hotel Regina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Rue Grand Saint Jean, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Lausanne
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The room we got was a large one and had a beautiful view out to the cathedral. The staff was very helpful to the point of arranging for someone to do one's laundry at a reasonable price. Unfortunately the room itself is at a pricepoint that will likely seem unreasonable for the nonSwiss traveler -- but that is true for everything to be purchased in this country.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
22
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed during my training with École hôtelière de Lausanne. It is very easy access to metro, buses because it's in downtown location where is also located near Majong, Asian Cruisine & Coop shopping mall, Star Bucks.
All staff are friendly & helpful. Free wifi with a very good speed. Bathroom is comfortable & clean. Breakfast is limited of variety.

Room Tip: Hight floor is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've stayed 1 month in the junior suite of Hotel Regina, during a business trip. I booked the single room and it was a nice surprise to have a free upgrade.

Highest points:
- Location: really central, 5 minutes walking from Lausanne Flon metro station. Close to restaurants, shops, touristic attractions.
- Wifi internet: during 1 month, I can`t remember one day without excellent Internet access.
- Room maintenance: clean and well decorated.

Lowest points:
- Tiny bathroom, but good shower.
- The breakfast used to be croissants, cafe and fruits (but not fresh) and that's all. After some days I wished something different to eat.
- The reception and the staff are professional, but after 30 days in the small hotel, I expected to have a more friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and thought the hotel was very comfortable. Comfy beds, doonas and pillows and plenty of hooks and cupboard space. Nice big, clean bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was good. Wifi is free and strong signal and there is a free computer in reception. It was a bit of an uphill climb from Lausanne Gare, but about a 15 minute walk. Downhill on the way back! Only bad thing was we went out for the day and when we returned the door to our room was ajar. Cleaning lady must have left open luckily everything was ok. When I reported it to reception he said it had never happened before but he would speak to them about it. Luckily we were at the end of a corridor and the hotel seemed pretty quiet. Overall I would recommend Hotel Regina.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The best thing about our stay was the staff. They were very friendly and welcoming to my husband and I. We were weary from traveling to get to Lausanne and their warm welcome was a nice surprise. This friendliness, and their excellent English, was even more appreciated after a couple of less-than-welcoming experiences in the area with French-only restaurants.

Our room was dated - blue carpeting, slightly worn furniture - but it was comfortable enough. The elevator/lift was very tiny - so small, in fact, that we had to carefully maneuver ourselves, along with our medium-sized luggage, in.

The hotel is in a great location - short walk to the train and surrounded by shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kent, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The neighborhood can be a little off-putting, especially at night, but the hotel is quite comfortable. Our room had a view of the Cathedral and was quite roomy. Breakfast is good, with the best coffee that we had in Switzerland. The manager's english is very good, and he's quite helpful if you need any tourist information. All in all, the hotel was a good value, and was convenient to transportation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in early September. The staff was extremely helpful and, thankfully, spoke English as my French is very bad. The hotel is in a great location in the old town. It is an easy walk to restaurants, shopping and the metro. If you are there during a farmers market, it is literally a block away and the food is amazing. The owner, Micheal, gave great information on how to get around, what to see, how to get to the metro, etc. This was our first stop on a 2 week trip and it started out great. Internet access was available in the room. The breakfast was ok. I thought the beds were really comfortable, my husband thought they were a bit too firm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: 18, Rue Grand Saint Jean, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.