We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Regina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Rue Grand Saint Jean, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Lausanne
South Kent, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The neighborhood can be a little off-putting, especially at night, but the hotel is quite comfortable. Our room had a view of the Cathedral and was quite roomy. Breakfast is good, with the best coffee that we had in Switzerland. The manager's english is very good, and he's quite helpful if you need any tourist information. All in all, the hotel was a good value, and was convenient to transportation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
20
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in early September. The staff was extremely helpful and, thankfully, spoke English as my French is very bad. The hotel is in a great location in the old town. It is an easy walk to restaurants, shopping and the metro. If you are there during a farmers market, it is literally a block away and the food is amazing. The owner, Micheal, gave great information on how to get around, what to see, how to get to the metro, etc. This was our first stop on a 2 week trip and it started out great. Internet access was available in the room. The breakfast was ok. I thought the beds were really comfortable, my husband thought they were a bit too firm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in the old town and close to the metro station, which is good if you need to go to the EPFL (like I did). The furniture in my room was a little old, but the bed was confortable and the bathroom recently remodeled. The wifi is included in the price of the room and so is breakfast (they have delicious croissants au beurre!). Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Drab, dark, stained carpet and cramped. Very noisy. Not sure what a 2 star hotel would be like if this is a 3 star. Breakfast was just ok. No fresh fruit. What's up with that. Was going to ask when the last time they changed the sweat sock that the coffee was being filtered through, but that would have been rude. (I am a bit of a coffee snob, so take that last comment with a grain of salt).

Staff were all competent and very nice (the only thing that made me not give this a one "Dot" rating). The city of Lausanne was kind of a shock to the system after being in the alps. In fact, the city and the hotel can be described using the same works... Drab, dark, stained and cramped.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights the third week of June. The hotel is located in old-town which is within walking distance to the train station, metro, shops and restaurants. The only thing we disliked was the street the Regina is on is a very steep pedestrian street and therefore a tiring walk uphill each time you returned. The room was clean and comfortable with adequate storage. There was a hair dryer available and enough outlets to charge cameras, i pad, phones etc. We made good use of the ceiling fan. I don't believe the open window and the ceiling fan would be sufficient to cool the room passed the month of June. The hotel tax paid for a city transportation pass. The breakfast was good and plentiful. The assortment of delicious breads was wonderful. We took advantage of the free internet access and Wi-Fi. Most of the staff spoke English and went out of their way to be helpful. Michael ,the owner, spoke very good English, was charming, and very helpful with directions and suggestions. The service and staff are the reason we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dark, drab rooms with yard sale quality furnishings; the only perk is a small but clean bathroom with shower. You won't rest well here because of a loud hum from the electric transformer outside your window and noise from people on the street. Can't believe Rick Steves would give this place a good review and describe it as "comfy". This "fixer-upper" needs lots of fixing!

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in early May at this very convenient and artfully decorated hotel. Its location is terrific, an easy walk to the cathedral, the train station and the metro, which takes you to Ouchy, where boats leave for tours around Lake Geneva. The hotel tax comes with a transportation pass to get around the area. Our room was clean and nicely furnished with a view over the roofs of the Old City and up toward the cathedral. Our only concern was that the shower floor was slippery. The plentiful breakfast was served in an inviting area. The staff were delightful, ready to give advice and very approachable, making maps and directions available. One staff member had lived in Los Angeles for several years, and his English was exceptionally good, but all staff spoke enough English to communicate helpfully. We went to the Saturday market nearby and loved purchasing cheeses, breads, olives and fruit for a picnic lunch. Overall excellent visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: 18, Rue Grand Saint Jean, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.