We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beau-Rivage Palace to your Saves list
Beau-Rivage Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1000, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Switzerland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is wonderful , the location service and the gardens in the summer are just wonderful , one feels one could be anywhere the flowers and lush foliage are just exceptional.

One of Switzerlands great hotels and still close to geneva .

Right on lake Geneva with wonderful views of the lake and Evian .

Perfect for business or pleasure couples or family .

good choice of restaurants .

Room Tip: Lake view is a must even though this may be an added cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    65
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
99
210
33
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Beau-Rivage Palace is the best place in Lausanne ! It offers a luxurious accommodation in wonderful and tastefully decorated rooms and the service is equally well organized. We tried the restaurant and we found a good variety of nice dishes to try. The quality was very good and the waiters were very knowledgeable. I would recommend this place for a relaxing stay in Lausanne !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed only for a week-end at Beau-Rivage and really enjoyed it. I was alone with my young children and everybody was very helpful with us. After having spent a few hours only in the hotel every body was welcoming us by our name which gave us the impression to be at home. The breakfast is so great that I wonder if it really worth trying the brunch on sunday morning.... A great choice and fantastic quality. However, the outstanding point was the service. We are used to top ranked hotels but on that front it is clearly above standards (that are already high).

Room Tip: The view is outsanding and worth a little supplement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

we visited this autumn.

What I liked was:

1. the rooms
2. the amenities
3. gardens
4. view of lake geneva
5. the cafe has a separate menu for vegetarians which is a rarity in Europe
6. the ornate halls
7. staff was mostly polite and discrete

what i disliked:

1. there were cobwebs in the reading lamps which was shocking
2. the spaghetti which I ordered in my room was so undercooked that it could not be eaten
3. breakfast didn't have sufficient options for vegetarians
4. receptionists seemed slightly haughty and chamber staff can be better trained

the property is beautiful but when you pay USD 600 or more for a night, you expect the stay to be exceptional which it was not.

Room Tip: the higher the room, the better the view. and pick from the refurbished lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was really looking forward to staying here as I've heard so many good things. It was overall an average experience.

The exterior: Looks great, especially from the lake side. 2 giant buildings connected by big public rooms.

The public rooms: The front entrance and corridors are lovely but not awesome.

The room: I stayed in a renovated lake view room. The view is great, and the room was very clean. But it didn't feel up to date. The TV in the mirror was cool, but kinda useless. It felt like a room from the early 2000s.

The bathroom: almost as big as the room itself. It was

The amenities: Bulgari everywhere, not bad at all.

The spa: pretty big. the pool was decent sized. but there is only one Jacuzzi but everyone.

The restaurants and bars: Everything was closed when i was there, except for the cafe.

The breakfast: Pretty average. Not a lot of choices but all high quality. Not significantly different to most other 5 star places in europe. But not even close to breakfast even in a 4 star hotel in Asia. The service was appalling. 3 orders were not acknowledged, the waitstaff all seemed like they didn't want to be there.

The service: Average to poor. Stayed at 4 different 5 star places in switzerland in this trip. I think switzerland service is generally poor, and this hotel is no different. Everyone just does the bare minimum. For example, no one greets you when you walk down the corridor. I had trouble with my 3 bags when i was walking towards checkout, and 3 staff member walked past completely ignored me. No bellboy to help me with bags after i checked out and I had to call a taxi myself.

Conclusion: Big hotel that looks good in photos ultimately let down by average rooms and poor service(normal for switzerland).

Room Tip: Join the leaders club, and get free breakfast and upgraded rooms. Make sure to have a renovated room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Beau-Rivage Palace, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Tony C,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time and writing a feedback for our hotel. We are glad that you liked our building from the exterior, your bathroom and the amenities, but are of course also interested in your review concerning the room.
We took good note that you felt like our newly renovated rooms weren’t up to date. As you have seen our rooms have a lot new technology, e.g. the TV in the bathroom mirror, a media hub with HTMI and USB access where our guests can plug their own electronic devices, a switch board to control the lights, shutters, etc. and an automatic air-conditioning system. We would be glad if you could let us know what you were missing.
Concerning your breakfast experience we would like to apologise that 3 orders weren’t acknowledged. The matter will be discussed with our Chef de Service. Concerning the limited choice of our breakfast buffet, we would again be very glad if you could elaborate on that point as we usually don’t have a remark considering our vast offer on the buffet and breakfast menu ( à la carte: eggs: scrambled, fried, poached, soft-boile or omelette with different choices of garnish, caviar, scrambled eggs with truffles, fruit juices and porridge, on the buffet: choice of fish, choice of meat, choice of desserts (mousse au chocolate, small cakes, etc.) different cereals, choice of different bread).
Finally we will have a look into your luggage problem during check-out.
As already mentioned we would be glad to discuss your different points with you in person. Please feel free to contact us any time.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

One of the most beautiful hotel buildings I have ever seen. Excellent service, very comfy bed, very good breakfast and the view is fantastic! The price is very good considering you are in Switzerland (I think Lausanne has cheaper prices). I would like to return there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a historic palace-hotel located by the lake in the Ouchy district of Lausanne. The view is amazing with Lac Leman stretchering to the distant Alpine mountains at the horizon. Lausanne peace treaty between Republic of Turkey and the allied forces was signed in 1923 in this hotel which makes it a special location for the Turks. The spa, rooms, service, shortly everything is amazing. You should stay at least one time in your life in this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Address: Place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beau-Rivage Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.