We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lausanne's Quiet Star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beau-Rivage Palace to your Saves list
Beau-Rivage Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1000, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Lausanne
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lausanne's Quiet Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Studied, quiet elegance at any time of day or night, or weather permitting, on the exquisite terrace overlooking Lac Leman. My retreat after the death of my dear wife, I was inspired to manage grief at the very sight of a caring staff, dining room distilled in the evening light and a large suite that ignited and refreshed fading happiness. Ten days in the stunning embrace of Beau-Rivage was an altering experience and renewal of many happy times spent there several years earlier.

Room Tip: Whether an Alpine or lake view, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    61
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
88
188
32
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked a suite with lake view - the later was stunning. Room was really nice, high ceiling, good mix of modern and traditional. Great in room food, good service, nice spa. If you have business in the center of lausanne you will have to take a cab or the metro

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Center, Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Located in Ouchy on the lakefront of Lac Leman in Lausanne, this hotel oozes opulence. The location is unmatched--gorgeous views of the lake and across to Evian in France, directly across the street from the lakefront providing easy access to a stroll along the waterfront and all that it has to offer, and close proximity to the Lausanne metro allowing you to travel throughout the city with ease. The staff exudes a welcoming and friendly attitude from the check-in process, which includes a personal orientation to hotel amenities and to your room, until the moment you depart. The public spaces are elegant in the extreme, with ballrooms in which you can easily imagine crowned heads of state of 19th century Europe holding court. The rooms are plushly furnished and up-to-date, with all the expected 21st century amenities. Included in our room rate was what can only be described as a sumptuous buffet breakfast including pastries and breads, charcuterie, eggs, made-to-order omelets, fruit, etc. The location of the breakfast area matches the quality and scope of the breakfast, overlooking the park-like grounds of the hotel and the lakefront. And to work off your breakfast, the spa offers 2 pools (indoor and outdoor) cardio equipment, weights, massages, and the full range of spa treatments--extraordinary! If you are looking for a special place to stay in Lausanne, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A grand-hotel "à l'ancienne", old-style. It was all simply perfect. Yes, the rooms need a refreshment to move into a more modern style, but actually you don't really need that except for the pictures you will show to our friends, as all is just fantastic.

Reception: we were greeted and scorted by a lovely girl who, by the time it was, went further on by asking us if we had had lunch yet. As it turned out we hadn't, a table was immediately proposed and booked at the Café Beau-Rivage, which was a nice touch. My girl received a child-size bathrobe+slippers, a bag and a welcome orange juice+cookies plate, fabulous (and delicious).

Rooms: facing the lake is compulsory here, lovely view, rooms were nicely decorated on an old style but with all working and new tech. equipment, including easy to access free wi-fi. Large bathrooms in good condition with good water pressure and easy to control water temperature, nice Bvlgari amenities, very good towels and linen. Well equipped mini-bar, good noise isolation, and powerful heating. Could have improved with a firmer mattess, as per my likes, but the fact is that we all slept like babies. Very good pillows, allowed us for a tough pillow-fight before sleeping. Lovely balconies made them even better. And that's what a hotel room is supposed to be for: fun.

Breakfast: served up to 11am, which is simply great for lazy mornings. Buffet was nice, nothing really extraordinary on variety (all classic breakfast dishes were there) but all of top quality. Nice service staff and lovely ambience in a newly built room with plenty of light. Exquisite table dressing. A perfect start of the day, that room is great.

Café Beau-Rivage: obviously overpriced but hey, this is Switzerland, where all is overpriced. Nevertheless, all was nicely cooked and very well presented. Service a bit slow, or maybe we were too hungry to wait. Tartare was perfect, and so was the pasta of my girl. Maybe the fish of my friend lacked a bit of flavour but it could not have been any fresher, and sauce was delicious. Deserts were nice as well, bread was very good, consisting of a full piece of bread half cut in slices.

We didn't try the other restaurants and only had a couple of teas at night at the bar, which was also very nice, as nice was to see they serve my favourite whisky, Caol Ila. Service staff were good.

Spa: only went a couple of times to the pool, didn't try massages or beauty treatments. Just at the same standards as the rest of the hotel, so very good. If I were alone, I would avoid evening time when more people goes, especially people with children, but apparently it is usually quiet, as was the case in the morning. I was not disturbed by kids, though, as all were really polite.

Grounds and public areas: beautiful garden, lovely corridors, impressive ball-rooms...

Staff: all great, from doorman to waiter, from concierge to room-maid. Discreet, polite, smiling, proactive, just perfect.

This is really a grand-hotel, without a doubt, and has showed that it is possible to live the history of the place while not falling in it as other "old-ladies" do. I often say some negative points of the places I go, this one I will only say that a renovation may be needed by some customers. Good news is that it is planned, better news is that, as of now, the hotel is in perfect condition and renovation is only felt as a matter of style.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake, no doubts about that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Simply amazing. Gorgeous view of the French Alps! Hotel was beautiful. Room with a view is worth it! The spa was worth spending a day in for sure. Lausanne is a beautiful town and fun to walk around. The local restaurants were all great. I would learn a some basic French before you go...we found the locals know very little English so communicating can be a challenge. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent location, the spa/swimming pool is one of the best we have seen (in an hotel). Rooms are big, classic but not too much and have just the modernity needed, not less, not more.Then comes the restaurants...well Myako is just superb. Great service. We haven't tried Anne Sophie LePic but this must be good as well. As usual in such case...the price of the hotel and the restaurants is very high....only if you can afford it really.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotels such as the Gritti in Venice, the Principe in Milan and the Negresco in Nice are marvellous but what is it about the Beau Rivage Palace that makes it even more magical? Well I suppose the location is a major factor.... set on the side of Lake Leman, it is rather like a stately and elegant 'lady' proudly and majestically in position and presiding over her empire. The views from the hotel are magnificent and change with the time of day,the season and the climate. They are restful and entrancing and if one cannot stop, relax and marvel, then one has to worry for ones soul, as it makes one realise the wonder of the natural world that we live in, with the Alps as a backdrop to the beautiful lake.

Our enjoyment was enhanced, as we were fortunate enough to be upgraded to the Lavaux suite which had its own roof terrace and this proved a beautiful retreat, especially as we were most lucky with the sunny weather, it being early November. This brings me to the second reason for the hotels brilliance and that is the people that work there. It is a place where one doesn't talk about 'service' or 'staff' but instead about 'professionals with pride in what they do'. From the time I booked and was in touch with the hotel about my wifes 60th birthday, the pervading attitude was one of trying to make everything special. This was embodied initially by the Reservations Manager, Damien Fruhauf who arranged for a cake to be made for her birthday lunch and clearly once he knew my wife's love of the view, arranged for the upgrade in the suite with the roof terrace. He was there to welcome us on arrival and was the epitomy of charm and professionalism but so was everyone else we came into contact with such as Sylvie, the wonderful female concierge or Marcel Bernard, the Front Office Manager and literally everyone in the bars and restaurants. Their kindness and generosity made one feel very privaleged and very appreciative and is another reason why I would nominate this hotel, above some of its competitors for the accolade of the Best Hotel in Europe.

For those that may consider the Lavaux suite, I can unreservedly recommend it, as it was quite marvellous, with a huge sitting room overlooking the lake and from which one could access the roof terrace by a mechanised glass roof. The terrace itself was totally private and was complete with loungers chairs and table. The bedroom was wonderfully comfortable and was adjoined by a large dressing area and a magnificent bathroom, complete with jacuzzi bath and seperate power shower.

The hotel has wonderful facilities and is a wonderful mix of opulence from a former age combined with a contemorary elegance and convenience. There are scenic grounds, a fantastic spa (we are told), two wonderful bars and three superb restaurants including a 2 star Michelin, a Japanese and an up-market brasserie, the Cafe Beau Rivage, which we particularly enjoyed for its contemporary French cooking. One can also visit an Italian restaurant L'Accademia, at the adjoining sister hotel but we would not recommend this and the contrast was further proof to us (as if we needed it!!) of the incredibly high standads of the Beau Rivage, which one almost takes for granted, from the moment one steps through their portals. One is almost unknowingly sucked into a world of excellence, comfort and relaxation.

The hotel is a place to take things at a leisurely pace and enjoy it for what it is and although we had several trips planned, we decided spontaneouly, instead to spend the week around the hotel and around the lake. It was a little like being on the grandest Ocean Liner, that was sailing through the most wonderful natural environment and feeling that leaving it would break the spell and take one back to a less than perfect world.

In summary a quite magnificent hotel that I would nominate as possibly the best in Europe, as I cannot believe that many of it attributes could be bettered. Equally it is not what I call stupid money to stay (unlike some hotels in London, Paris and Venice), given the absolute quality that is provided and in these term I would argue it is excellent value for money. My wife had a wonderful 60th birthday, spent in a wonderful location and were looked after by a team of complete professionals, who we sincerely thank. We will always remember this stay but will certainly be back, even though next time it may not be in the wonderful Lavaux suite. My only regret is not being able to award more than five stars to this wonderful establishment and the people who make it so special.

Room Tip: The lake views are quite incredible and well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Address: Place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beau-Rivage Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.