We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel Great views and beautiful decoration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beau-Rivage Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beau-Rivage Palace to your Saves list
Beau-Rivage Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1000, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Lausanne
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel Great views and beautiful decoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

Superb service, great rooms
Love to come back every year!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    61
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
88
188
32
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I expected this hotel to be very good, and it was. It has modernised skilfully and is a great mix of updated facilities with traditional luxury.

Pretty much everything lived up to billing: excellent rooms, really good housekeeping, charming service at every level - and a lovely terrace to sit out on and enjoy the view of the lake. The staff were relatively young and informal for a 'grand' hotel with the odd mistake or omission, but all cheerfully put right.

But what impressed me most was the speedy response to any problem, and the fast/positive response to feedback in person on questionnaires. The attitude is the old one that the customer is right, and it's a welcome change from some of the poor responses at similar establishments or lesser ones.

The only problem with the Beau-Rivage is that it's extremely expensive now given the strength of the Swiss franc. But even with a horrible exchange rate, it felt worth it.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a wonderful for hotel -- the staff is friendly and accomodating. When booking it is best to ask for an inclusive package with breakfast since you can order it in your room as well. Otherwise, ala carte or the buffet is quite steep.

For proximity to Lac Leman and downtown via Metro, it is really quite convenient. It is expensive; however, booking a room facing the city can get you a better deal. The bar and lounge on the ground level is very relaxed and has live music.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This place is tops. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with the best of Swiss hospitality and responsiveness. The hotel located right on Lake Lausanne (more like a resort) is grand and is in tip-top shape - not an insignificant task given its size. We had a lake view room, which was comparable to any Four Seasons hotel...very large, luxurious, clean, and with every amenity one might expect from a hotel of this caliber. The room was whisper quiet and the beds extremely comfortable. The numerous hotel restaurants were all wonderful and best of all, they all had the best views of the lake in the city. The extensive gardens are filled with flowers and are well manicured. The pools were great for both relaxing and swimming laps. My wife really enjoyed the gym and spa, and my children were given free pastry and flower arrangement lessons, and sent on a treasure hunt around the grounds. Besides the facilities, the staff were ever attentive and friendly (no snobs here). A great value for those on vacation or business who desire the best.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

At first blush this five star grand hotel is spectacular in the tradition of years gone by. The lobby, the function rooms and all public rooms are very grand. We had a junior suite overlooking the lake with a balcony. It was very large, spacious and comfortable. The room facilities were more than adequate. However, we found the soft furnishings old and the room looking generally tired and in need of refurbishment from bedspread to carpets to curtains. The shower stall in the bathroom leaked because the shower head was unstable. All fittings and furnishings have remained untouched for many years. The service particularly left much to be desired. Staff were young and inexperienced in the main dining room serving breakfast with no management in sight. Requests were unfulfilled or simply ignored. Staff to take baggage had to be called several times with no response. Given the hefty tariff at this hotel, the experience overall was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Beau-Rivage Palace, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear CommentatorMichael,

Thank you very much for your review. Please kindly note, that we took your feedback into account.
However, we are happy to let you know that we already have plans to renovate the rooms as well as the bathrooms in the near future.
Further we would like to apologise for the lack of service you experienced during breakfast. We informed the responsible service staff in order to improve the breakfast service.
We thank you again for your feedback and would nevertheless be glad to count you again among our guests.

Best regards,

Beau-Rivage Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We chose to stay at Beau-Rivage Palace as it was in the Amex Fine Hotels list and also because of its location. Deservedly, it has been called the best hotel in Lausanne and is also the current no 1 hotel on the Trip Advisor list. The location, in Ouchy by the lakeside, is unbeatable. You can easily explore Ouchy by walking, or the rest of Lausanne by taking the Metro, the 'Ouchy' stop of which is only 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. You can wander down to the waterfront in a few minutes and take the ferry across the lake to Evian, if you so wish. But you may also want to spend some time and enjoy the luxuries of the hotel which has a wonderfully large ground that you can explore (there is even a small pet dog cemeteries in one corner of the ground, where Coco Chanel's beloved dog is buried) - facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, table tennis table, tennis. Breakfast is taken at the Terrasse which has a wonderful view of the lake and the hotel grounds, and, which if you choose to sit outside in the summer, you will have to share with the small birds that like to hang around for morsels of food .... it's quite an experience! We chose to have dinner at the Brasserie from where we had a wonderful view of the sunset over the lake. The food and service was excellent to. There was many other wonderful things to experience in this hotel but unfortunately we didn't have all the time in the world! I found the service very personable and warm - the man who attended to me at the reception took the time to show us to our room personally. We were upgraded to a luxury room thanks to Amex FHR and had a nice partial view of the lake. The room and bathroom were huge by European standards and very comfortable. If you like to be treated royally on your travels and have a palatial home by the lake, you can do no better than to stay here. (Nothing is cheap in Switzerland but the wonderful experience here has at least partially soothed my poor wallet.....)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks on business. A very good hotel in a wonderful location. BUT...
Clearly used to catering to uber wealthy as evidenced by the occasional arrogance/condescending attitude of hotel staff.
Specific examples: after eating in formal/stuffy/expensive restaurants on business all week, I wanted a relaxed, informal meal. When I advised the Concierge that I would love a place with good Moules and Frites or a burger, his response was to look at me with disdain and respond "but that is not good food..." Very telling.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Palace

Address: Place du Port 17-19, Lausanne 1000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Beau-Rivage Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Palace Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beau-Rivage Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.