We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epicurious - a trendy chic atmosphere restaurant downtown Lausanne” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Epicurious - CLOSED

Epicurious
Port-Franc 11, Lausanne 1003 , Switzerland
021 312 16 85
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Epicurious - a trendy chic atmosphere restaurant downtown Lausanne”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The place is undoubtedly one if the trendiest chic restaurant in Flon, downtown Lausanne. Decoration is modern and chic, yet cozy and comfy. The wine list is excellent and you'll find an exclusive menu with some very original combinations if original presentations and traditional French cuisine tastes. Service is ok but there is definitely room for improvement. Not all staff are able to answer basic questions about there menu (shown on iPads).

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    10
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice restaurant, a few waiters have a good experience in wines which is a plus. The food is nice, but a little overpriced. The terrace is very nice in summer. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food, impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We ran away from an abominable restaurant where - after waiting for 1 1/2 hours we never even got to order our food. We then unintendedly then ended up at Epicure.. What a pleasant surprise!The interior is modern, fun, beautiful.. There is a terrace, smokers have an ultra modern 'fumoir' that doesn't interfere with non-smoking guests. I am a non-smoker and thought this was a good alternaticve for people who need their smoke from time to time.
We were treated here like royalty. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. If you order the 'menu de degustation' it is understood that the whole table takes it, but in our case -because the place was not busy yet- the chef was wiling to give one of our,party his own a la carte choices. Both -a la carte and degustation - were delicious. The presentation was so beautiful and creaitve that we took,pictures.
Price - quality: very reasonable price for excellent food. We will certainly go there again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Too much show off for the worth service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I heard about that place as very trendy place with a nice terrace... so far it is true.
No free space on the terrace (fair enough) we took place at the place underneath. The atmosphere was nice, and we 45 min to spare.
The waiter just drop the ipad on the table and go. 1 Ipad for 4... ok, I can leave with that.
We did not order alcool, because we were driving just after. My friend and I ordered a fruits cocktail. I was expected a nice glass with the little umbrella, a pineapple on the side... yeap, not really. the waiter (who was making very discutable jokes) brought us to big glass "burgundy" shape with a bit advertising for "Martini" on it... the liquide inside the glass was brown. we looked at each other thinking he was making a joke. But nope, it was our fruit cocktail. I tried it... oh my god! it taste poor industrial orange juice with mint sirop (which explain the colours). We called back the waiter and we asked him if it was a joke... "no seriously that your fruits cocktail?". he confirmed the mint sirop in it. we told hié we were expecting "real fruits" , so he said, ok we will put pineapple, orange and mango. We said yeap... fruits!
He came back with the same glass and * industrial juice added in the same glass... for 10 chf!
On the side, the table next to us order the "famous" cosmopolitain.... it was served in a wisky glass...
So people, if you claim to be a fancy Wine bar, get real professionnal waiter who can serve anything (even if we dont drink alcool!)
Never again!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food, poor wait staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The server brings you an ipad and thinks that is enough entertainment for the evening. The food is good and reasonalbly priced but it is hard to overcome poor service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epicurious also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epicurious, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.