We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A $50 hotel for $200” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Chaucrau, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Stratford, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A $50 hotel for $200”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Mold in the bathroom. Filthy carpets. Noise all night long in the so-called quiet streets (trucks of some sort). The bed is split and hard as a rock.
The only positive is loads of tv channels. But you don't want to stay in the room to watch because it is so 1970s old and smelly.
I am eating the breakfast right now. It's awful. Fruit from a can. Instant coffee. Stale bread. If I had paid 1/4 as much for this place I'd understand, but this is ridiculous.
The worst is the cheapest internet here is $29 for 24 hours.
Tip: the starbucks just at the corner has free internet and actual real coffee.
I've stayed all over the world in hotels, including dives in the seediest parts of town and this is worse.
STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
11
17
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randers, Denmark
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Hotel placed in a small pedestrian sidestreet to the larger pedestrian streets in the center of Lausanne. This means absolutely no noize and absolutely easy access to the center.
If feels like a family-run hotel (friendly receptionist that chats with you) and a nice small breakfast area at the top floor with good service. With a great view of the city if you can sit outside.
There are two free internet computers that you can use - but if you want to connect your own you will have to pay - or go out and find a free wireless connection at one of the numerous cafés offerings this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Cons: 2 star hotel that looks like it was decorated by a yard sale

PROS!!: We LOVED this place! It was located in the center of the Old City (Lausanne is divided between 2 districts, the Old City and Ouchy – on the shores of Lake Geneva) and within waking distance of everything including Lausanne Cathedral and the Metro stop, the service was awesome, there was free internet (no AC however) and they serve an awesome breakfast (fresh bread, cheese, fresh squeezed OJ, french press coffee, salami, poached eggs, and an assortment musli – healthy and delicious) with a stunning view

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

When we arrived by taxi from the main rail station we were a little surprised at the exterior appearance of the hotel. The web photos do not appear to be an accurate representation of the actual exterior. However once you appreciate the historic location you understand the challenges the management has of presenting anything different. Our room was on the top floor, reasonably roomy, modern and well maintained. We had the extra benefit of access to a large terrace attached to our room. In good weather the views from this area would be spectatcular and a real bonus to your stay. The location is very central to the beautiful old town and close to the metro. The hotel offers guests a a voucher for free travel on all forms of public transport, another bonus. The included breakfast was a bonus and adequate for our needs. We would recommend this hotel. The unavailabilty of free WiFi internet access, so common in many European hotels, was a minor irritation. However,this is easily overcome as Lausanne has many free WiFi hot spots located throughout the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

The good:

- staff were very friendly and all spoke English.
- rooms were clean
- location very good; right next to metro and near lots of shopping etc.
- TV had 4 or 5 english-speaking channels
- not insanely expensive (keeping in mind it's switzerland)
- breakfast featured some really good cheese and cured meat. Not a proper hot breakfast, but still really really good.

The bad:

- beds had no sheet, just a comforter (and a fitted sheet on the mattress). This, plus no AC (it is Europe after all :) meant it was a very warm sleep. If you tend to run warm, I would bring a sheet. The window opening helps, but it's pretty noisy out there
- can't use minibar to store your own stuff
- no free wi-if
- free internet computers are pretty slow (of course, they're free so who's complaining :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Nice hotel,very close to metro,shops,etc.Rooms need upadating,be sure local church bells won´t affect you...they start early, so if you are in for a late wake up it can be annoying..Otherwise its not a big problem...The room i was in was a bit cold for us...The window didn´t close properlyBig flat tv screen and minibar.Good bathroom,clean and nice shower.Besides that the place is perfect,everything within a walking distance!Nice detail you get a free public transport card for the days you stay in!
Breakfast is very complete with all you can ask for...You make your own fresh grapefruit or orange juice,all with a lot of light in the last floor.Should be nice in summer in the terrace.Depending from what country you are coming from the staff could be a little bit distant.But with us they were very nice and helped us in general questions.If you go by car,be careful, i understand its a small parking they have.Its not really worth moving around by car, public transport is the best way...When getting there dont go walking with suitcases,all the city is in a steep hill and its not worth taking a taxi, just drop of at Riponne Metro Station,its a 2 minute walk from there...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We spent 5 nights in the hotel and luckily had a top floor room with a balcony/terrace.

I would agree with most reviews here. The hotel needs some remodeling, the staff is friendly when approached, and the breakfast is really really good. Tops is the location - it's so convenient to the Metro and to fun walks in the old town.

Yes, I know that church bells are part of the charm, but being on the top floor directly across from a clanging bell tower made it difficult to sleep past 6 am. The rooms were warm, so keeping the windows closed was not an option. And the rooms are small. Plus, as noted, the street noise was there, but for me (I live in a city) that was easy to tune out.

One weird side note is that the cleaning products they used were cloyingly smelly. And although we had a non-smoking room, with the windows open and the way the ventilation system worked, it sometimes smelled smokey. If you're sensitive to smells, this would be a problem.

If you're looking for a cozy, comfortable place that's centrally located with breakfast included, this could be just the hotel for you!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: 5 Rue Chaucrau, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet pedestrian street, we offer you a warm welcome, a high quality equipment for your comfort and we serve a hearty Swiss buffet breakfast.Hotel Crystal Lausanne is within walking distance of the Palais de Beaulieu (congress center, exhibitions, etc.) - Close to private clinics and the University Hospital (CHUV). Direct connection with the EPFL and the University thanks to M1 - 250 meters on foot of our establishment The City Tax allows you the free use of the public transportation of Lausanne Bus and Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lausanne
Lausanne Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.