We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Chaucrau, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 40 hotels in Lausanne
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice view,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here 11 night in August 2012 with a friend during a bicycle trip from London to Italy.
The staff was helpful, located in the heart of Lausanne, large rooms with well equipped bathrooms. One of the best buffet breakfast I had in a hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor suites with terrace, amazing view on cathedral and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
15
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Loved our trip there... Very helpful and
nice staff. Breakfast is very big, lots of different breads, cereals, orange juice... What a difference from many hotels we have been in the past that offer small, basic breakfast with stale Danish pastries...
We had no issue with the rooms. Yes it was a little small and it has a retro look but that's to be expected in Europe, and it was very clean. My husband is a clean freak and was very impressed by how clean it was. I was reading some of the reviews and I wonder if we stayed in the same hotel... To each his own, but bed bugs really???

Anyway... We will definitely be back!!!!

Highly recommended for a decent, lovely and cost y hotel in downtown Lausanne.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

A very nice hotel Located right in the heart of Lausanne. Walking distance to most sights such as the Cathedral and all the other lovely building in the old part.
You get of course the travelcard so you can use public transportation which is necessary in the hilly town :)
The staff is friendly and when i had issues they fixed right away.
The décor is not the newest, but they kept it clean, and for three nights it worked out great.
The Breakfast was fine as well. Good variety and coffee.

I can definitely recommend this hotel if you want a nice budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel and for a price of almost £200 per night I thought it would be ok.
I was proven wrong. Already at the reception I was greeted by a smell which only can come from a dead body somewhere.
The room was big but it seemed like I was back in 1920. It smelled like smoke and mould everywhere. The shower had mould as well.

I could go on and on but it's not even worth spending my time on this review.

In short STAY AWAY the ibis hotel around the corner is better.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here during a business trip and wouldn't stay again. Beds had bugs, no air con and no plug sockets anywhere near the desk. As there was no air-con i was forced to have my window open all night and had to put up with the sound of the bells and local drunks int he street. Furthermore the rooms are not very well sound-proofed and therefore every noise of people talking the hall comes echoing into the rooms.

To be fair the staff are lovely and it's a great location but the lack of cleanliness and run-down appearance let it fown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

They were doing refurbishing at the time of my stay. Rooms are very basic and small but bed was firm and comfortable. Wireless internet was free for 1 hr /day and is well situated in the old part of town where there is minimal traffic. This was fortunate as you could hear people talking in the street below. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast is excellent situated on the 5th floor roof top with great views over the town. If you are coming to Lausanne by train use the excellent metro to get here as it is only 150 metres away. The hotel also provide a free public transport ticket for the length of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

The hotel itself is not top luxury in terms of decoration, style, etc. but it definitely has what you need for a good business trip hotel: clean room, wifi connection, large breakfast with a lot of variety, nice staff, and pretty sound-proof rooms. I've actually stayed there twice, and went back for this recent trip. It is also located close to the metro, so I would definitely recommend it again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: 5 Rue Chaucrau, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet pedestrian street, we offer you a warm welcome, a high quality equipment for your comfort and we serve a hearty Swiss buffet breakfast.Hotel Crystal Lausanne is within walking distance of the Palais de Beaulieu (congress center, exhibitions, etc.) - close to private clinics and the University Hospital (CHUV). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lausanne
Lausanne Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.