We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Chaucrau, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

A very nice hotel Located right in the heart of Lausanne. Walking distance to most sights such as the Cathedral and all the other lovely building in the old part.
You get of course the travelcard so you can use public transportation which is necessary in the hilly town :)
The staff is friendly and when i had issues they fixed right away.
The décor is not the newest, but they kept it clean, and for three nights it worked out great.
The Breakfast was fine as well. Good variety and coffee.

I can definitely recommend this hotel if you want a nice budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
11
18
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was recommended this hotel and for a price of almost £200 per night I thought it would be ok.
I was proven wrong. Already at the reception I was greeted by a smell which only can come from a dead body somewhere.
The room was big but it seemed like I was back in 1920. It smelled like smoke and mould everywhere. The shower had mould as well.

I could go on and on but it's not even worth spending my time on this review.

In short STAY AWAY the ibis hotel around the corner is better.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here during a business trip and wouldn't stay again. Beds had bugs, no air con and no plug sockets anywhere near the desk. As there was no air-con i was forced to have my window open all night and had to put up with the sound of the bells and local drunks int he street. Furthermore the rooms are not very well sound-proofed and therefore every noise of people talking the hall comes echoing into the rooms.

To be fair the staff are lovely and it's a great location but the lack of cleanliness and run-down appearance let it fown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

They were doing refurbishing at the time of my stay. Rooms are very basic and small but bed was firm and comfortable. Wireless internet was free for 1 hr /day and is well situated in the old part of town where there is minimal traffic. This was fortunate as you could hear people talking in the street below. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast is excellent situated on the 5th floor roof top with great views over the town. If you are coming to Lausanne by train use the excellent metro to get here as it is only 150 metres away. The hotel also provide a free public transport ticket for the length of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

The hotel itself is not top luxury in terms of decoration, style, etc. but it definitely has what you need for a good business trip hotel: clean room, wifi connection, large breakfast with a lot of variety, nice staff, and pretty sound-proof rooms. I've actually stayed there twice, and went back for this recent trip. It is also located close to the metro, so I would definitely recommend it again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Convienent location - close to train and old town. Staff was helpful and efficient. Lovely room on the 5th floor provided a full breakfast. Room was adequate and included a small refrigerator.
Many shops, restaurants, and co-op close by. We happened to be there on a Wednesday to attend the Farmer's Market on the plaza near the hotel. Great buys on pasteries, cheese, dried meat and bread. Be sure to visit the Cathedral!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Mold in the bathroom. Filthy carpets. Noise all night long in the so-called quiet streets (trucks of some sort). The bed is split and hard as a rock.
The only positive is loads of tv channels. But you don't want to stay in the room to watch because it is so 1970s old and smelly.
I am eating the breakfast right now. It's awful. Fruit from a can. Instant coffee. Stale bread. If I had paid 1/4 as much for this place I'd understand, but this is ridiculous.
The worst is the cheapest internet here is $29 for 24 hours.
Tip: the starbucks just at the corner has free internet and actual real coffee.
I've stayed all over the world in hotels, including dives in the seediest parts of town and this is worse.
STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#16 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#21 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#38 of 48 in Lausanne
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#28 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#29 of 48 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#13 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: 5 Rue Chaucrau, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet pedestrian street, we offer you a warm welcome, a high quality equipment for your comfort and we serve a hearty Swiss buffet breakfast.Hotel Crystal Lausanne is within walking distance of the Palais de Beaulieu (congress center, exhibitions, etc.) - Close to private clinics and the University Hospital (CHUV). Direct connection with the EPFL and the University thanks to M1 - 250 meters on foot of our establishment The City Tax allows you the free use of the public transportation of Lausanne Bus and Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lausanne
Lausanne Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.