We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to the station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel AlaGare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel AlaGare to your Saves list
Hotel AlaGare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Simplon 14, Lausanne CH-1006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Handy to the station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Booked this hotel because it is close to the station, very easy to find but make sure you leave the station at the platform 9 end. The staff on reception were very polite and friendly as was the lady in the breakfast room. Our room was a good size with a king size, extremely comfortable bed with nice crisp and clean bedding. bathroom was a bit on the small side which seems par for the course in Europe. The breakfast was mainly cereals, bread and cold meats and cheese which was probably all that we needed since we have been eating too much on this trip anyway. Coffee and tea making facilities in the room was a plus. All in all a pleasant stay and would recommend and stay again if we are in Lausanne.

Room Tip: We had room 106 which opened out onto a private courtyard,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed here recently for one night and have no complaints whatsoever. The staff was nice enough, the rooms were fine, and the location to the train station couldn't be beat. It is literally out of the window. I read some of the comments about train noise in the summer time, but we didn't notice as it was December and we had the windows closed. Rooms were European style cozy and clean. There was a TV and tea/coffee service in the rooms. Breakfast was not included in the hotel price, but could have been purchased for something like 20 Euro. I forget the exact price. My friend and I did not opt for the breakfast add-on. This is the first hotel I have stayed at in Europe recently that did not have breakfast included. A super perk of this hotel though was that they gave us a free transit card good for unlimited travel around Lausanne. They marked it for us for the day we arrived and the day we left, so we got good use of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

i stayed for one night in August, on a crisp cool night.

The proximity to the train station made it so easy to drop off my bags and go see the town. I loved having coffee/tea services in the room. I shared a bathroom on the floor, and it was always clean and empty. Having a sink in the room was very much appreciated.

There wasn't a lot of room to move around, but I was one person, so it didn't matter so much.
My window opened up right to the train tracks. I heard the trains at night, but it was not so bad. The location and coffee services made up for any noise!

I also booked an amazing deal off of Booking.com. Check there for possible discounts!

Room Tip: The upper floors are better, since the windows open up onto the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The location is great - close to the metro station, and they provide a free travel card for all the bus and metro area.
The room was not big (rather small, European stile), but sufficient, and since it was not facing the railway, it was quiet enough at night for us to have a decent sleep.
Breakfast - the room and its furniture was great, and so was the food.
The staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the road, not the railway station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for one night at the hotel AlaGare during our vacation in France and Switzerland. The hotel is close to the Lausanne trainstation with train and bus connections throughout Switzerland and France, a 45 minutes trainride takes you to Geneva, 20 minutes to Montreux and a 25 minutes ferryride cross the Lake Geneva or Lac Leman as the locals call it, takes you to the nice towns Evian and Thonnon in France - where prices are quite low compared to Switzerlandand, but the ferryride across the lake is quite expensive. The hotel AlaGare provides you with a free ride card for local busses and Metro, so it is quite easy and cheap to get around in Lausanne.
When we arrived to the hotel the lady at the front desk was busy doing something else rather than checking us in, so we had to wait for ten minutes as the only people waiting to get checked in, and have our room. We have never experienced that before! Despite that, she was quite nice when she finally checked us in, and the room and the beds was quite allright and so was the bathroom. We were not bothered by noice from the railway or the street down below, so all in all a good value for the money - especially when you are in Switzerland where they only have to kind of prices, expensive and very expensive.
If you are in Lausanne to visit the Olympic Museum please be aware of, that the museum is closed due to renovation untill the end of 2013. There is a small exhibition on one of the old steamers on the lake right next to the museum - but it is only a small exhibition.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

air conditioning not working, only a fan in the room, desk clerk claimed hotel fully booked, did nothing or even apologise.
big bed takes up most of room, no place to put suitcase without stepping over it.
desk understaffed, just one clerk, who sighs every time I asked a question.
only positive was breakfast, which was good and restaurant staff at breakfast did a good job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lausanne hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Would be a nice hotel but terribly understaffed. One desk clerk while tour group checking in, had to wait behind them. Rooms not ready by checkin time, had to wait in lobby. NO Air conditioning in room, tho hotel advertised as having it. The then said only some rooms have it. Long wait for elevators, breakfast nice but no place to sit if you go when a tour group is there. Room was tiny, no place to put suitcase and still be able to walk around the bed

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.1 mi away
Agora Swiss Night
Agora Swiss Night
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Boulevard
Hotel du Boulevard
#30 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#26 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#20 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AlaGare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AlaGare

Address: Rue du Simplon 14, Lausanne CH-1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AlaGare 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lausanne, near the train station, Hotel AlaGare offers both a traditional environment and modern equipment, with 45 recently renovated single and double rooms. The friendly atmosphere of this 3*** hotel and its very competitive pricing, make the Hotel AlaGare one of the most appreciated hospitality destinations of the Lausanne region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda, Booking.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel AlaGare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Alagare Hotel Lausanne
Minotel Hotel Alagare
Minotel Lausanne
Lausanne Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing