We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but otherwise terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City to your Saves list
Hotel City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Caroline 5, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Jena, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Central but otherwise terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had to stay in this hotel during a business trip to Lausanne. If you travel by car there is no chance of parking in front of the hotel, not even for quickly depositing your luggage n the hotel. There is a garage ca. 500 meters away from the hotel but you have to carry your luggage up a hill.
The hotel itself looks nice at the first glance but once I got into my room I wasn't too happy anymore. There were stains on the sheets and rug. The drain the shower was dirty with spots of mold. The tap was dirty and incrustrated. At nigh the toilett made strange noises.

All in all this was a very bad stay and I can only recommend to not use this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    29
    36
    21
    17
See reviews for
18
21
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed a last-minute booking since my airBnB host cancelled right before an important trip to Lausanne. The room was well-maintained and comfortable, and the breakfast in the morning was nice. The staff were polite and courteous. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel City, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards
Hotel City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel is smack in the middle of town, 5 min walk from the old city or the shopping areas, so this is great.
The views from the room over the cathedral; also good.

But the hotel is stuck in the past and, like many hotels in Lausanne and Vevey, has not been updated since the 60´s or 70´s.
Very basic amenities in line with a 3 star hotel, but again stuck in the past.

It is relatively cheap for Lausanne, but do keep in mind that everything in Switzerland is expensive - so outside of Swiss, paying this much money for such a room is not hear of.

So all in all, well located, with nice views. But if you want comfort, this is not for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel City, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your feedback. We are glad to announce you that most of our rooms are already renovated with the last rooms opening soon.
We hope to see you soon back in our hotel to try our new fully refreshed rooms.

Kind regards
Hotel City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is being renovated floor-by-floor so it's a bit hard to judge fairly. The price is certainly right, being far cheaper than other hotels in Lausanne. It's in the center of town, which, beware, is NOT the lakefront. The hotel is right above a metro station, minutes from the cathedral and pedestrian shopping streets. My room was functional and comfortable but the hotel is a bit on the grimly modern style. I hope they improve the breakfast buffet which was very limited during my stay. But as I said, not totally fair to judge a hotel in the midst of a renovation.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Great location at the Bessiers metro stop. I was on the top floor overlooking lake and views of the Alps. The room and furnishings were newly remodelled (Ikea style). I enjoyed my stay and the reliable free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

We thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel City and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Hotels By Fassbind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is all about location!

At first I was a bit disappointed that with the room quality - very basic (had problems turning on bathroom lights and opening bathroom door due to poor handle), but when I looked out the window and the the lighted up Notre Dame Lausanne Cathedral - my heart skipped a bit. This hotel is all about location, location, location - it is 5 min walk from the Cathedral and old city and right on top of the metro station that takes you to the harbor and all other important landmarks. They give a free metro card and WIFI worked perfectly.

This is my first time in Lausanne so I do not know if for the money (on the cheapest side of 3 stars) you can get more, but if you are all about location - you know which tradeoffs you are making. Plus, the room was clean and had everything I needed.

PS: I had to ask for a different room because the first one smelled of smoke, but the 2nd one did not. Breakfast was nice (nothing fancy, but good selection and service). Also, this hotel is not for you if you cannot stand the Cathedral bells - you can hear them well here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with cathedral views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on business just for the 1 night. Hotel was nice and clean and the staff were quite helpful. Everything you would expect from a city centre hotel. Free wifi was a nice touch as was the travel card to get back to the train station.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Address: Rue Caroline 5, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.