We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Youth Hostel for Grown Ups.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City

Save Saved
You added Hotel City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Caroline 5, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 40 hotels in Lausanne
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Youth Hostel for Grown Ups.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband thought he'd be budget conscious and book this hotel for us and our 11 year old son for 2 nights, and also because of it's great location.
A few weeks ago when we were here, we stayed at The Montreux Palace...the type of place we usually stay, and comparatively, this hotel isn't such a bargain, price wise.
Went to get 2 tiny cups of coffee from the dining room this morning (6 SF and they were totally annoyed I dripped some out of the teensy cups.) I was told to 'bring the cups back!!! (With wagging finger.)
The place is clean enough and when the man at the desk does bother to look up from his computer, he's helpful enough...but I'm a grown up and my youth hostel days are long over. I don't travel with a back pack.
I'm now looking for something nicer.

Room Tip: We are in room 505 an the view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    23
    31
    20
    15
See reviews for
17
18
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiasso, Ticino, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here in September....Found the staff to be pleasant enough. Hotel was easy enough to find - we printed out directions from Google maps. Hotel did seem a little dated, but it was clean enough and perfect for our budget. Bathroom and room was clean, bed was comfy and breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at hotel city. Our room was in desperate need of refurbishment. The wallpaper was peeling and the decorations very old. The bed was quite uncomfortable and the pillows very thin. We did not have a view. On the plus side they do provide free wifi and we found the staff very helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Vaud
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The gentleman at the reception was pretty unwelcoming but after some gently persuasion he did allow me to have my room early and it had a good view; he did continue to be pretty surly though. The women who worked there were delightful and most helpful and attentive. Breakfast was just OK-ish and served in a nice conservatory. The rooms seemed to have been unchanged since the sixties or seventies; peeling wallpaper, flaking paint and fairly ancient fittings. Dark pinky-red leopard spot carpet everywhere is an unusual choice... Great location by the metro and plenty of shops and cafes nearby, as well as the beautiful cathedral. I would hope to never stay there again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The main plus for this hotel is the location right in the centre with a metro station just outside. Inside I found the staff helpful, the rooms a bit small but clean and comfortable. I had a bit of noise from late night revellers which was a bit disturbing on the Friday evening but otherwise, it was fine.

The breakfast room does have a great view of the Cathedral and the breakfast is fine if you stick with continental. The cooked breakfast was not so great......to be frank they have to be the worst scrambled eggs I ever eaten but then...hey... we are on the continent.

Room Tip: One with a window away from the main street might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

On a weekend in Switzerland, we chose to stay here because of the price and location. We ended up leaving after one night - completely terrible. The rooms are shoddy - wallpaper is peeling, and the carpet is infested with something that makes you itch. The bathroom is not in a good state (mold etc). If you stay during the summer, as we attempted to, you can not sleep because there is no air control, and being in the center of teh city, you can not leave the windows open (loud). I would not even stay here if it was offered for free.

Room Tip: no rooms have AC, as a warning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubendorf, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I just got to this hotel and i am mortified. There is a urine stain on the wall!!! On top of that it is generally extremely run down. The bathroom is something out of the 60s. The wallpaper is falling apart. And it is 100% true what the other reviwers said about the elevator carpet. It is the nastiest carpet i have ever encountered! Will let pictures speak for themselves.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Address: Rue Caroline 5, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;