We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful by comparison with alternatives” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Angleterre & Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Lausanne
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful by comparison with alternatives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just returned from a four-night stay at the Angleterre, which was recommended by friends over a conference hotel nearby (and which turned out to be dreadful according to those who opted for it). There is much to like about the Angleterre. If you are lucky enough to get a room overlooking the lake, well, it's breathtaking. It is in a lovely part of Lausanne (a city that isn't nearly as pretty as its surroundings might suggest), the desk staff is courteous and most speak English at least passably. There is ample underground parking right near the entrance (though at a fairly high cost of 25 Swiss Francs a night; five free spaces are available in front, but are nearly always full).There are niggling things. The rooms aren't large -- I'm stymied by those who say otherwise -- and our "junior suite" was about the size of a standard American hotel room, if not smaller. Even the 'updated' things, like the bathrooms, seemed a little long in the tooth and not very imaginatively designed, even if everything worked well (e.g., there was a preposterously long counter... with ONE sink, and everything was monochrome white tiled). Most strange of all was the total absence of a bell staff, even though we had a longish walk over cobblestone streets and up about three flights of stone stairs just to get to the rooms. And, although this is really minor, the elevators had THE STUPIDEST DESIGN EVER (you chose the floor you wanted beforehand, but could not change it upon entering; if you want to go from one floor to another, you have to go to the lobby level, then re-ascend). More seriously, the breakfast buffet was expensive and sub-par, but, then again, nearly all the food in Lausanne was that way (we paid over $50 for fish and chips in a nearby bistro; yes, you read that right).

Quick look-sees at other hotels in the area indicate that the Angleterre is actually about as good as it gets. When you consider that Swiss prices are stratospheric in general, the merely sky-high prices at the Angleterre seem almost like a bargain. Go for the setting and the relative amenities. You'll probably be less happy anywhere else in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lake. No great reason to stay here if you don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    57
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
82
18
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, 3 days and really wish we had stayed longer! Our family had 2 rooms over looking Lake Geneva and we had a lovely balcony to enjoy the view as well! Our 4 kids shared a room with two twin beds, a roll away bed and the chaise lounge was big enough for our littlest one and our room was connecting which was perfect! The hotel also left 4 coloring books with colored pencils for the children which I thought was a nice gesture!

We really can't say anything bad about the hotel! The staff was so welcoming and friendly, the buffet breakfast was great and they even had a pool which our children used 2 days in a row! The rooms were quite spacious and we were really able to spread out! And, the view was just magnificent! We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This really is a lovely hotel in a great location right on the lake and the staff deliver great service. The rooms are spacious and feel quite old school luxurious. The breakfast outside on the patio overlooking the lake (there is a road in between but it's still pretty) is very good. My only gripe is that because it's a hotel split into numerous different buildings, it's very hard to get around with anything bigger than hand luggage. The cobble stones and stairs in between the buildings make it hard to wheel anything. And the tiny revolving front door is impossible to get into/out of with a suitcase - and there isn't another way in. It's lovely, and I have stayed here three times now, but it's not the most practical of designs. The restaurant is really first class (go to the one right next door overlooking the lake - think it's called Beau Rives or something like that). Beds are comfy. Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in one of the high buildings - you will have lots of stairs to climb in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The front desk staff was especially helpful and delightful. Our room was fabulous with a balcony overlooking lake geneva. Highly recommend paying the extra money to get one of those rooms. The attached restaurant provided a delicious breakfast. Really there was nothing bad to report here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is an excellent place to stay in Lausanne - an ideal location, very friendly staff, a nice restaurant and very cosy rooms. It would have got 5+ points from us but for one minor thing - we arrived one day before the Lausanne Triathlon start, and and all streets leading to the hotel had been blocked. We had received several letters from the hotel - booking confirmation, upcoming stay information - but in none of the letters did the hotel inform us of the 'temporary difficulties' in reaching the place. As a result, we spent about 2 hours trying to get there and had to park at Beau Rivage. Once we got to the hotel reception we received all the assistance needed from the desk managers: they explained everything, took care of the parking ticket, etc. But it would have been so much easier to tell customers in advance about any such thing as restricted access or alternative parking solutions.

Room Tip: Check sports events schedules beforehand :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Travel to Lausanne on business a lot and have heard about this hotel. Finally managed to stay at this hotel becasue of a "4 nights for 3" deal (otherwise it would have been outside company policy).
It is pricey (breakfast 34 CHF, meal 70CHF -without alcohol) but the service from the staff was exemplary. The check-in staff accompanying you to your room was a nice touch. The room was comfortable, the gym was OK (but then when you have such a fantastic location with an opportunity to run along the lakeside, why use the gym?) and the food was very tasty.
If they repeat the 4 for 3 deal, I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel Angleterre is perfect! We just spent two nights there and can report that it really is as nice as you could ever hope for. The room was large and finished perfectly. Venetian plaster on the walls, mural on the ceiling, air conditioned, sound proofed window, room-darkening electric blinds, great view and lovely grounds. They also provide a card that gives you free access to the metro and buses.

As others have noted, it is an expensive place to stay but sometimes you just have to be prepared to pay more for the very best. Lausanne is an expensive place to visit so be prepared for everything to cost more than you would normally pay (especially alcohol, food and wine).

Stop reading and book now!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angleterre & Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.