We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Angleterre & Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wonderful staff in this luxurous hotel. Comfortable bed with top quality bedding and towels. It could be very dark with remote blinds and peacefully quiet. Excellent bathroom with unique flooring and plush towels. Great umbrellas provided on a rainy day. We had a spacious room and efficient elevator access. I liked the interior designs they were very modern and interesting in all the community areas. It was an easy walk to commute up to the old town for touring and a pleasant stroll to the water front with plenty to do and see including the Olympic museum and boating tours, gardens, giant chess games and intriguing wind/weather vanes to photograph. Parking was simple and safe on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    66
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
97
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed in a few hotels in Lausanne when there on regular business trips. I think this is the best. Ideal location on the lake, very pleasant room, the restaurant is very good - expensive but no more than anything in Switzerland. Staff everywhere are delightful and helpful (not always the case among the Swiss). There is a good Thai and also a pizza place around the corner which are good alternatives if you are on a budget. The walks in both directions along the lake a very attractive and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lobnya, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Enjoyed three excellent nights in this beautiful hotel,

it's located in very good place, near the lake with quick access to public transportation in Laussane - Ouchy.

Service is absolutely imazing, and the hotel is very nice with the Xmas preparations

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great hotel. Sibling of the Beau Rivage.
I stayed at a renovated room, very comfortable, with view to the lake. Very nice classical design.
You have access to the Beau Rivage which has exceptional services and food but I would say the rooms here are nicer, fresher and much more comfortable.
Breakfast is quite average though, but there is a little cafe/boulangerie next door that is not bad at all.
Exceptional service.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a very nice place in an excellent location for views, right at the side of the Lake in Ouchy.

The hotel has modern décor, and the room we stayed in was an executive suite on the front of the hotel overlooking the lake (I asked for am upgrade as it was my birthday and we got it).

The room had a large comfortable bed, large flat screen TV, though even the normal TV entertainment and music channels were chargeable. There’s a mini-bar (chargeable), an electronic safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and plenty of wardrobe space. The room was well sound proofed from the road in front, and had electric black out blinds.
The bathroom is a nice size, bath, separate shower cubicle, large sink area, with hairdryer, hotel robes and slippers.

There are a limited number of free spaces in front of the hotel reception, and an underground secure car park adjacent to them, which costs 25 CHF per day.

The outdoor pool was closed when we were there, though it was I think a little out of season, but we couldn’t even look at it as it was shielded behind a locked entrance.

The metro up to Lausanne centre is a couple of minutes from the hotel and is one line up there. The hotel issues us with a free local transport pass on arrival too.

We didn’t eat in the hotels Italian restaurant or take breakfast, but the menu did sound very good.

A nice place to stay, very clean, good staff, and an excellent location. Downside is, it’s expensive…..5 star Lake view in Switzerland!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to one of the exectutive suites on the front overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

One of the best hotels in Lausanne, clean, quiet, not huge, excellent service. L'Academia resto is actually one of the best italians in the city with a very good choice of wines.
Always a pleasure to stay there and Imgo pretty often.

Room Tip: Rooms 1000 in the building up from swimming pool or next to swiming pool with lake view are extremly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Chose this hotel for the last night of our trip through France and Switzerland and wish we could have stayed for longer. The hotel is in a beautiful location on the shore of Lake Geneva, we paid a little extra and opted for a lake view room and had stunning views of the Lake and the Mountain from our balcony. We stayed in mid September so the weather was just taking a turn but I imagine this would be a wonderful place to stay in mid summer as there is an outdoor pool. Our room was very well appointed and clean and although the hotel is expensive you do get what you pay for. You are given a metro card for the duration of your stay which is great as you can just hop on the metro just a short walk away from the hotel and go into Lausanne centre. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the restaurants.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.6 mi away
Agora Swiss Night
Agora Swiss Night
#7 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 48 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#4 of 48 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne
Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne
#12 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#8 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angleterre & Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angleterre & Residence Hotel

Address: 11 Place du Port, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#3 Family Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angleterre & Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Angleterre & Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angleterre And Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Hotel
Angleterre Residence Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angleterre & Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.