We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Lausanne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Lausanne to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Lausanne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place de la Gare, Lausanne 1001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Lausanne
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights for businnes. the location is perfect, in front of the train station and very well connected to EPFL by means of the metro. The hotel also gives you a ticket for all the public transposrt so you do not have to care of buying tickets at the machines. The staff is very nice and very efficient to solve any problem you can have with your room.
Good breackasft with many choices of bread, pastries, yogurt, eggs and cheese.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your comments in TripAdvisor, following your recent stay in our Hotel!
It helps us a lot to have such positive comments as my collaborators try afterwards to be even more efficient in their tasks!
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and in the meanwhile please accept my best regards

Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    154
    62
    13
    3
See reviews for
25
59
62
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Excellent location, directly opposite the train station and next to the metro. Staff were friendly. The room (a double classic comfort) was clean, spacious and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time spent and your kind feedback in TRIPADVISOR!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the CONTINENTAL Hotel!

Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel with good service and good food. It is also just across the road from the railway station. It was very pleasant to be able to walk across to Lac Leman and then along the promenade with an ice cream (how common) after a long journey. The room itself was on the small side but nevertheless comfortable and we did not have any disturbance with external noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
It was very nice to read your comments in TRIPADVISOR concerning your stay in our Hotel! We thank you very much for your time spent and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me in order to predict a larger room for your next stay with us!
Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We needed 1 night before going to the airport for our trip home after a month in Switzerland. This hotel was extremely convenient to the train station. The rooms were clean, although on small side. Shower was excellent. Toilet seat was a bit odd as it was terribly uncomfortable. Outside noise was dimmed by the closed windows. The AC unit was annoying as it blew cold air all night. The front desk was helpful. This hotel is expensive even to swiss standards.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments in TRIPADVISOR, concerning your recent stay in our Hotel! It’s very important to get such comments which help us to improve our services! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and this time to let you choose a different room which could fit better for you and in the meanwhile, please accept my best regards
Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

the hotel has an excellent location in Lausanne, with a nice view of the Lac Léman. The architeture style and furniture is from the 50s. It has a good breakfast service and provides the customers with a transportation ticket to be used in the public service of Lausanne.

Room Tip: you'd rather have a room with view to the Leman lake, which is wonderful by the time of sunset/b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was very nice to read your positive comments concerning our Hotel and services. I take this opportunity in order to inform you that in a few months the “new face” of our Hotel will be a reality. After the complete renovation of our 116 rooms, the front desk area as well as the upper floor and meeting rooms will be updated too!
Looking forward to welcome you again soon at our Hotel.
Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

good location, but at night too noisy due to people having fun near railway station... clean, furnityre is not old. easy to reach the city center and the lake shore- metro is nearby, public transport tickets are given at reception

Room Tip: too noisy outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the time spent in order to give your feedback in TRIPADISOR following your stay in our Hotel. We have taken notice of your comments and we would like to suggest - next time you visit us - one of our rooms situated on the back side of our building where even if you leave your window open, there is absolutely no noise! I have to underline that our rooms in the front are all equipped with soundproof windows and it’s very rare that our clients are disturbed from the noise except if they leave them open!

Hope to welcome you back again soon at our Hotel.

Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Continental hotel is located very conveniently - next to main train station and it is main advantage (they have low cost car park - valet parking as well). Hotel itself is little bit outdated but in general cannot complaint. Standard single room is very tiny and difficult to walk around the bed so that pulls down my scoring to average. I like atmosphere in the hotel but may agree some people will not appreciate that. Staff is very supportive and nice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive - in general - feedback in TRIPADISOR following your stay in our Hotel. The undersigned would be happy to show you a different type of room, much larger, in which you can be accommodated next time you visit us!
Looking forward to your message to: manager@hotelcontinental.ch.

Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Address: 2 Place de la Gare, Lausanne 1001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lausanne
#4 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First class Hotel in front of the main train station, next to the Metro. Buses to the main Hospital and the most important destinations in front of the Hotel. Two restaurants, Bar, free WIFI and Parking service for only CHF 5.00.All our 116 rooms are completely renovated and are equipped with air-conditioning, fridge, safe, satellite TV and cable Internet or WIFOI access free of charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Lausanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.