We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the strongest asset, and decent rooms with good price/quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Lausanne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Lausanne to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Lausanne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place de la Gare | Vaud, Lausanne 1001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location is the strongest asset, and decent rooms with good price/quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel's location is unbeatable, right across the train station. Enjoyed the room, even though tiny and on the street (high is the view to the station and lake further down, low is noise from the street).
Basic facilities, nespresso on the floor shared, bathroom very convenient woth shower.
Overall, good price for value, pleasant and would come back (in a larger room next time).
Satisfaied with my stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    161
    66
    14
    3
See reviews for
27
60
63
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
metro Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Directly across the street from the Lausanne train station, the front entrance is marked only by a labeled canopy over the door. Lobby is not luxurious. But where is counts, Hotel Continental is excellent in every respect. Bed is comfortable, wi-fi is fast and free. The shower has a rain shower head with excellent pressure (No tub, in my room, at least). The staff are multi lingual and very helpful. Free coffee machine not in room, but by the elevators. The breakfast buffet has plenty of healthy choices, not just the typical, tired cereal and yogurt cup. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Renovated rooms are great. I only wish they were a bit bigger (especially the bathroom).
Free Nespresso coffee.
Staff is wonderful.
Location just perfect, in front of the station.
Nice restaurant and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

All staff at the reception were welcoming , efficient and helpful. Breakfast was great. Room was clean and nice. Location of hotel is just by the station . The metro is a stone's throw from the hotel too. If I go back to lausanne again, hotel continental will be my choice. Thank you for the wonderful service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived tired after long train trip. We had booked cheapest room, as only there one night, and delightful man at desk put us in a beautiful suite overlooking lake. He was charming all the time we were there. Breakfast was excellent, and we wished we were staying longer. The bed was best we've ever struck in a hotel. Comfort plus.

Room Tip: The suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have visited the hotel for only three nights. I have stayed there during my business trip in the room with double bed, internet and breakfast.
From entrance I had a bad impression. At first, entrance look a bit filthy, secondly, there was a bad smell at the desk. During check in I probably got used to it while being served by friendly staff member. The room was a bit packed but comfortable. Both the desk and the bed were all right. Very small bathroom served it purpose. Unfortunately the cosmetics could be better.
The biggest surprise was the breakfast. I actually would advise to go out instead of buying it in hotel. The choice was poor and quality of food could be better.
Overall the stay was good, the room was clean, and I had no issues with Continental's services... but for the price and the breakfast :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed on a business trip with some colleagues and enjoyed the hotel very much. I was lucky to be at the rear of the hotel which did not suffer from noise and my room was bigger than my colleagues for some reason. The double sized walk in shower was particularly good. Breakfast quality and variety was excellent but an evening meal in the restaurant was mediocre at best, especially considering the quality of the Italians nearby. The hotel location is superb, being right opposite the train station and next to the metro for which you get a week's free pass. The hotel bar and barman are superb but some of the clientele would raise an eyebrow or two in some establishments. Staff were very welcoming and friendly and spoken faultless English but saying a few words in French is always well received.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Address: 2 Place de la Gare | Vaud, Lausanne 1001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the centre of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The hotel's Restaurant "Grill Olympia" is a testimonial of the sportive history of Lausanne. Enjoy the healthy fish- and meat dishes in the Restaurant "Grill Olympia". Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the centre of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Lausanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.