We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Lausanne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Lausanne to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Lausanne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place de la Gare | Vaud, Lausanne 1001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Room size is great for a family of three. Location is great for travelers on train. Sound proof is good and we had a good night sleep. Breakfast was great. Beverage selection is great -- nespresso e.t.c.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    169
    71
    15
    3
See reviews for
28
63
66
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I arrived by train late afternoon on a dismal day. When I left the station and looked across the road to see the hotel my heart sank and it ran through my mind that I would look for another place to stay. As others have said, the exterior of the hotel is very off-putting: the canvas awning looks dirty and it generally looks very uninviting. However, the welcome I received was quite the opposite. I stayed 4 nights and throughout my stay the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly - at reception, at the bar, at breakfast. I had a couple of housekeeping queries and staff appeared it seemed like seconds after I'd hung up the phone. The room was a tad small - not much room between the end of the bed and the wall. But the design had obviously been well thought through and the storage space was ample and conveniently placed for me (I was on my own). And it was clean and smart. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The place is located just across the road from Lausanne Railway Station, so it can be your perfect shelter if you are a business traveller desperately looking for a bed after a long day of meetings or a long-haul flight. Metro station is just the next building, and the receptionist will provide you with a free card for all means of transport for the next day so you won't have to pay for your metro or bus. The closeness of the railway station, metro and mcdonalds, well, call for extra security, so the doors to the room are made from solid metal, but my room itself was rather spacious, with great bed and very well maintained (no-smoking environment). Breakfast is quite nice as well, Nespresso coffee included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Don't be put off by the awful architecture or the dated reception area, the room was lovely. Spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated, with the most delicious crisp linen and soft pillows. The decor in the room was also pleasant and although the shower-room was small, it was so cleverly designed that you could almost forget its size. My room was very quiet despite being opposite the beautiful 19th century train station. The staff were also charming and helpful and at £150, the room was good value for Switzerland. An excellent, well located place to stay when on business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have just come back from a work trip to Lausanne. The location of the hotel is excellent, directly opposite the railway station, unfortunately the outside does look quite rough!! We were greeted by a very happy, polite and helpful receptionist. Evertime we saw him after he always made a fuss. The rooms were a little hot as i couldnt work out how to turn the heating down. The room was modern, spacious, clean and tidy. The shower was amazing!! One tip would be to take your own coffee/tea/sugar. There was a kettle but no coffee etc. There was a bar and restaurant in the hotel. The restaurant was a little over priced. The breakfasts were good, scrambled egg, bacon, bread, rolls, ceral. The bar in the main reception area was busy all times of the day and night, with very polite staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

While my room was smallish, I thought is was a good value for the money - many amenities. The hotel is directly across from Lausanne Gare, so getting on the metro is a breeze. The front desk staff members were courteous and extraordinarily helpful regarding questions I had about navigating the city as well as recommending places to dine and sightseeing. Despite its proximity to the train station, my room was quiet and I had a room that faced the train station. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Face it, Lausanne is a mega-expensive city for hotels -- even at weekends and also even by Swiss standards. So the Continental is reasonable value, which is a polite way of saying it's still pretty expensive; it's directly opposite the station and part of a small Swiss Chain called Mainz Privacy Hotels. The single room I had was pretty small, by European standards, but had been nicely refurbished in the past year or so and had everything one might need, including Wifi. Although on the front of the hotel, there was next to no noise. The staff were friendly, not always a given in Switzerland. The restaurant has morphed over the years into a greek place but serves a reasonable breakfast, nothing fancy but did the job. One of the best of the four or five hotels I've stayed at in Lausanne. Btw, all of them offer a travelcard for metro, bus and public transport in the city for the length of your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night
Agora Swiss Night
#6 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne
Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne
#12 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Lausanne Centre
Ibis Lausanne Centre
#11 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#21 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#7 of 48 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#29 of 48 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Address: 2 Place de la Gare | Vaud, Lausanne 1001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the centre of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The hotel's Restaurant "Grill Olympia" is a testimonial of the sportive history of Lausanne. Enjoy the healthy fish- and meat dishes in the Restaurant "Grill Olympia". Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the centre of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Lausanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.