We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange room design” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alpha-Palmiers to your Saves list
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Kamakura, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Strange room design”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is good for many reasons: very close to station, nice staff, spacious room, etc. The only strange thing is that there is a clouded window separating the bathroom from the bedroom rather than a usual wall. When the bathroom light is on, the bedroom also becomes lit up. When two people spend the night if one person needs to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night it means effectively turning on a light in the bedroom. My daughter and I stayed at this hotel on two different occasions in two different rooms and both were like this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    183
    105
    57
    26
See reviews for
45
83
39
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Alpha-palmiers for 5 nights in December 2012.

Positives:
- Brilliant location next to train station, very convenient
- Large room
- 2 restaurants and 1 bar in the building
- Friendly staff
- Quiet room
- Hair dryer, kettle and tea making facilities provided.
- Nice decor


Negatives:
- Breakfast not included in room rate. 25CHFs for a breakfast each so expensive.
- Expensive room services - 10 CHFs extra per dish ordered!
- If you pay for a 'Thai garden' view, don't expect to be able to see the garden. You are basically paying extra for a quiet room.
- Frosted glass window between bathroom and room. Although they appear to have put on door since the previous reviews!

Overall very good stay, would stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience here it was located directly across from the train station. We arrived at 12pm and were able to check in early. We were given free transport passes to use on the buses and metro around the city. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was great value for money - I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Didn't really have time to compare if there is a better place place for this price in Lausanne but at hotel Alpha Palmiers you get: a room that is not heated as it should, with a small electrical heating system that I could barely feel in the room. Very very cold... Poor internet connection, doesn't support a 48 kpbs stream, cannot browse, cannot use Google maps. Useful only if you need to check your e-mail once in a while. The staff is friendly. The price is huge. No privacy at all in my room, 10m away across the street there were some office buildings with people working late. Not coming back here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asten, Österreich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Let's start with the good things: WiFi was for free, and the breakfast good.
Now the rest: The service was ok-ish and not more. You have to be quite patient. The rooms are poorly insulated. I did double check whether all windows were closed because I could hear pretty much everything that was going on on the street in front of the hotel. I kept the curtains closed pretty much all the time because there was a constant draft making it impossible to work at the desk. For that price I do expect something else. There are many different hotels in Lausanne and I won't take the Alpha-Palmiers again.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay there, take a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

You make a reservation you see photos of good size rooms and you get there and you get this tiny room with a bed for a child. THe guy at the reception we are sorry this is all what we have left. whether you made reservaton a week ago, he does not care. AVOID this place !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the train station, although up a kind of a steep hill. It's also midway between a couple of metro stops, and (this might be true of most hotels in Lausanne) they give you a free metro pass for your stay. The buffet breakfast is decent but seems overpriced. My room had a nice view of the central courtyard, but I'm not sure if all rooms have a good view. In my room, the bathroom was quite spacious, but since it had no door to separate it from the rest of the room, this might not be the ideal setup for everyone. The TV had zillions of satellite channels available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Address: Rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.