We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie du Grand Chene

Brasserie du Grand Chene
Grand Chene 7-9, Lausanne 1002, Switzerland
21 3313224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 389 restaurants in Lausanne
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Brasserie
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
brussels
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very tasty food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Located in the Lausanne Palace , this is a typical french brasserie with all you expect to eat in such an establishment : various kinds of oysters , steak tartare , entrecôte , snails , etc... Good and reasonable wine list . Very cosy decor and excellent service , If you like good brasserie food , this is the right place .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    27
    29
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Also a bit overpriced. Nice atmosphere tho”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not very interesting food but a great "brasserie" atmosphere. Went back just to sit at the bar and drink a glass of wine with one of their little snacks, that was more worth the price than the full meal I had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Excellent brasserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This brasserie has a nice menu with a modest selection of dishes. Waiter service is very good and the look and feel of the place a lot classier than some of the clientele! It's fairly pricey compared with say, London, but not out of kilter with Lausanne generally.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Perfect french brasserie, professional service and excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I went several times to this Brasserie and last time in May 2012 during my holiday back home in Lausanne. The brasserie is located in the centre of the city in a 5 five stars hotel called Lausanne Palace. The decoration is like a french brasserie very smart. As the name indicated they proposed a lot of brasserie plates, and crustaceans tray (special card for that).

The service is very professional. Food is excellent. My favorite dish is the "EB" Burger with "foie gras" and they add a truffle sauce.....delicious.

I recommend with closed eyes this brasserie.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great and consistent cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked a table for a Saturday lunchtime treat at this brasserie in the Lausanne Palace. Great service, just "good" typical brasserie food with a Swiss twist. Seafood platters looked amazing, and my mussels (plump & juicy) we eclipsed by a fabulous crab soufflé enjoyed by my wife.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie du Grand Chene also viewed

 
Lausanne, Vaud
 

Been to Brasserie du Grand Chene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie du Grand Chene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.