We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commovente: moving.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Collection de l'Art Brut

Collection de l'Art Brut
11 av des Bergieres, Lausanne 1004, Switzerland
41 21 315 25 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 attractions in Lausanne
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Commovente: moving.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Simply the most wonderful and powerful museum I've ever visited in my life. The place its self is a great location and the collection is simply stunning. First of all the idea to create such a museum. Its collects the works of basically disturbed people, living in mental hospitals: it is art at its pure essence. No influences, no periods, no copying, only deepest feelings and sentiments.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    31
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Looking for a way to keep US teens interested in their visit was nicely surprised with the variety and uniqueness of the Art Brut Museum. Everyone was well entertained for a an hour or two. Now I take or send all visitors there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“fascinating place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A very unusual museum dealing with outsider art in a delicate, interesting way. incredible pieces showing a bit of the enormous spectrum of the human mind, some extremely beautiful.
Highly recommended!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you go to Lausanne you need to visit this museum. It opened my mind for things I could never imagined. It is very well presented and explained, very touching and interesting

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unconventionally fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was a refreshing experience, away from classical artists and towards something more modern and off the wall. We found the Alouise exhibition slight overkill but that's just because it wasn't to our taste. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collection de l'Art Brut also viewed

 

Been to Collection de l'Art Brut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collection de l'Art Brut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Collection de l'Art Brut to your Saves list