We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Savoy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Savoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Royal Savoy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Avenue d'Ouchy, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Huge old pile of a place that looks like nothing has been done to it for 50 years. Very old-style Europe, which means slightly fusty atmosphere, little obvious mod-connery and all the better for it. Staff are friendly and very helpful, and know their way around Lausanne and how everything works. My room was huge, with a magnificent view of lake and Alps. Best of all, the slience. No piped music, no hubub. Like a genteleman's club. Sometimes less is more. Not bad value either for a big posh-ish hotel in one of the most expensive countries in teh world.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackyT474, Responsable commercial at Hotel Royal Savoy, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Even if your stay did occur several years ago, thank you for the comment related to the legendary "Royal Savoy". Your time is appeciated.

The "Royal Savoy" is currently closed, as a matter of fact since beginning of 2010, and we will reopen after major renovation, in summer 2015. Our legendary hotel will be a new 5 star hotel.
We are confident, and hope that you will experience, and appreciate a brand new property, as "Royal Savoy" will write a new chapter of Lausanne Hospitality.

We do wish you a wonderful and healthy new year, and would be more than glad to welcome you in summer 2015.

Best regards from Lausanne,



J. Tresch
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
5
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

I do regret I didn't take seriously the negative reviews about this hotel. There are some very valuable and true comments on TripAdvisor about this hotel, my fault having ignored them and booked this old monument to early Sixties hotellerie.
At Royal Savoy not much has changed in the last 40 years, so if you like this kind of situation, you'll feel at home. Otherwise, be prepared to a smelly, dusty, run down big hotel. The building needs better maintenance and somebody looking after evident signs of negligence and abandon, outside and inside.
It could be fun to spend some time in this Sixties relic, if it just wasn't that expensive... Corporate business tariff was 250CHF per night (single occupancy) + 25CHF breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackyT474, Responsable commercial at Hotel Royal Savoy, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Even if your stay did occur several years ago, thank you for the comment related to the legendary "Royal Savoy". Your time is appeciated.

The "Royal Savoy" is currently closed, as a matter of fact since beginning of 2010, and we will reopen after major renovation, in summer 2015. Our legendary hotel will be a new 5 star hotel.
We are confident, that you will experience and appreciate a brand new property, once the "Royal Savoy" will write a new chapter of Lausanne Hospitality.

We do wish you a wonderful and healthy new year, and would be more than glad to welcome you in summer 2015.

Best regards from Lausanne,



J. Tresch
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

The hotel is close to the Olympic Museaum and the Volleyball Federation. Has two nice restaurants in front of the hotel, best Osso Bucco in town. The hotel service is excellent, very helpful.The hotel offers a free ticket so you can use the bus and metro system. I would suggest they change the beds. The matress is too hard and the bed is too low. It's a bit overprice for the accomodations.
Overall hotel is nice for 2-3 days. The internet was $8.00 for 2 hours, I thought it was expensive.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackyT474, Responsable commercial at Hotel Royal Savoy, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Even if your stay did occur several years ago, thank you for the comment related to the legendary "Royal Savoy". Your time is appeciated.

The "Royal Savoy" is currently closed, as a matter of fact since beginning of 2010, and we will reopen after major renovation, in summer 2015. Our legendary hotel will be a new 5 star hotel.
We are confident, and hope that you still will experience, and appreciate the enhanced service. And moreover, the brand new property, as "Royal Savoy" will write a new chapter of Lausanne Hospitality.

We do wish you a wonderful and healthy new year, and would be more than glad to welcome you in summer 2015.

Best regards from Lausanne,



J. Tresch
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed here for two nights recently and enjoyed this old hotel immensely. Probably not suitable for lovers of five star chain hotels but anyone who appeciates a grand hotel a little past its prime, this place is great. Our room on the fifth floor was huge - sure the decor is a bit dated but in a faded grandeur kind of way. The 180 degree view stretching north to the Alps, east across Lake Geneva and south down to Geneva itself could not be beaten. The breakfast was substantial, loved the chandeliers in the dining room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — view from room, size of room, breakfast, atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

We were expecting a nice hotel but in fact it is an old, smelly and antiquated hotel. For the rates, we were expecting a nicer hotel and better service. The building is beautiful but it is now run down. We had a large room on the second floor with 2 balconies which had much debris as if they had not been swept in months. The only positive was the bathroom which had recently remodeled and was great.

The service was below average. My partner arrived at the hotel the day before so I called to leave him a message which was never given. The next day he left the key at the front for me and when I arrived they claimed they did not have it. When the man at the front went up to the room with me to open the door, he mentioned that my partner must have misplaced the key. When my partner went to inquire about the key and its' location, they kept asking "are you sure you gave it to us?" I thought this eagerness to blame us for their mistake was very unprofessional. We will not be staying at this hotel again, it was a waste of money.

  • Liked — the bathroom/shower
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

We have just returned from a week at the Royal Savoy. The hotel is really nice and has a lot of antiques. The service we experienced was excellent. It was so lovely and we stayed in one of the rooms that had a lake view. The Wi-Fi service was good & dependable. You can purchase a 2 hour or 24 hour window and they will give you a login and password. As for the weather it rained most of the week and I couldn't wait to get back to the peace and tranquility of the hotel. There are little grocery stores all around the hotel. The two biggest chains are Migros and Coop. You will find several restaurants close to the hotel as well. A few blocks north, Cafe de Grancy on Av. Rond-Point 1. Also south on Avenue D'Ouchy close to the lake front Moevenpick Hotel Restaurant Avenue de Rhodaine 4 is very good as well. One of the locals told us about a pizzeria Le Pinocchio on Avenue de la Harpe 16 - traditional Italian cooking with a low key home town feel. Service was good and the pizza was great. It's good to know a little bit of French before you visit. Many do speak English but there are limitations. The room we stayed in had one king bed but it was two twin mattresses pushed together and I think it would be better to just have a king mattress instead. Cons - carpet stains close to the elevator on our floor and even though we had a non smoking room you could smell cigarette smoke on occasion. Overall I would say the hotel was very nice and charming. The room was clean and the bathroom was modern w/hair dryer. I would recommend this hotel if you enjoy afternoon strolls in the Ouchy district along Lac Léman (a.k.a. Lake Geneva), it was simply very charming, safe and fun to stay at the Hotel Royal Savoy.

  • Liked — Service and the hotel was charming.
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

The hotel is a very old impressive chateau, which in old times should have been very luxury. But, at present it definitely needs renovation outside and inside. In the rooms, the furniture, as well, is very old. Its garden needs more much more care. Anyway, the service was very good and the hotel was clean.

The rooms with lake view do have a nice view to the lake, although as it is not in front the lake, other buildings deteriorate the whole view.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Savoy

Address: 40 Avenue d'Ouchy, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Savoy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary “Royal Savoy” is writing a new chapter in the history of Lausanne hospitality. By the summer of 2015, the new establishment, located in the heart of the residential area of Ouchy, and steps away from the lake and Lausanne’s shopping district, will offer 196 “contemporary chic” designed rooms and suites, with refined services like lobby bar, cigar lounge...The hotel will grant genuine, personal, unobtrusive and authentic service experience. The restaurant will highlight a distinguished signature chef. A large terrace is set to become “The” Place; 24 hour room-service will be available. While the historical part of the hotel offers 101 rooms and suites, the new south wing offers 95 rooms including an exclusive penthouse floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.