We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss Hospitality at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, avenue de Rhodanie, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Coimbatore, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Swiss Hospitality at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Movenpick, Lausanne for 3 days during business visit. The hotel is located at lake front and has a great view from the room. Its easy to reach from Ouchy metro station. The rooms are comfortable and top notch. Complimentary Wi-Fi is a great plus. The ice creams at the restaurant is real yummy and unforgetable. The best part of the stay was Swiss hospitality. When we checked in, Mr Johnny at front desk greeted with a warm big smile and we were treated to tray of best Swiss chocolates and orange juice. Johnny is unexceptionably friendly and has a charming way of introducing the hotel and its features. He made our check-in smooth and helped with all our queries. Pleasant memories of Lausanne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Panneerselvam,

Thank you very much for your praise following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.
They have been shared with the entire team, including Johnny at Front Desk.

We are happy to read that your stay as left you pleasant memories and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards from Lausanne

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    235
    78
    25
    11
See reviews for
64
125
31
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have been for many times in this very good Hotel: nice rooms, excellent food, perfect service. Just a few meters from the shore of Lake Geneva and the campus of IMD Business School. Al fresco breakfast, lunch or dinner when nice weather. Free Wifi, however you need to input many times a day login & pw details.
Try to get a room with view on the lake.

Room Tip: Lake view rroms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

We are all delighted that you enjoyed staying at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne while following courses at IMD.

Concerning your remarks on our Wifi, please be informed that we are working on finding a solution that will permit you to get instant connection.

Stay tuned for further information !

Best regards and see you soon

C. Kramer
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I opted for a room with view of the lake, I think it was well worth it. I booked through booking.com as the rate was lower then the hotel's online rate - I mentioned that on check in and the receptionist said that was normal to find better rates elsewhere then on Movenpick site. Hotel location was good. The room was average, a bit similar to Novotel style. I did not take b/f in the hotel ... but it did seem quite expensive. Did not use any of the facilities as was visiting friends, so not much time was spent in hotel except to sleep.

Room Tip: High floor. Lake view was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback following your trip in Lausanne and stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

You are right in mentionning that booking.com is showing different rates than our own website. The reason for this is that they do not include City Tax when we do. We only think this is fair to the customers to inform them of the total charge and nor hide any taxes that will need to be paid.

Concerning our breakfast, we aim to provide our clients with different choices ranging from CHF 24.00 for a Continental to CHF 34.00 for a full buffet, which is the correct range for a 4 star property. Of course, you are able also to have the 'a la carte' breakfast and be charged on consumption.

As you mentioned, our lake view rooms are worth it and we are delighted that you enjoyed the splendours that they offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

JM Berner
p/o C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful four night stay. Had a room on the seventh floor with amazing views of the lake and mountains (go for lake view room in the higher floors). The hotel is perfect, staff is very cordial, helpful and efficient, especially the reception staff. The rooms are spotless, good sized and well equipped. Free excellent wi-fi connection in the room with very good speed. They allowed an early check in without any extra charge. Movenpick ice cream is a must have! Very well located and accessibility was excellent. Hotel staff was very helpful with sightseeing and helped us in planning out itineraries based on weather and personal choices. They gave us Lausanne card which allowed free access in the metro which took us to city center. Place around the hotel is very interesting and good for walks aswell. Gourmet food options in the hotel, which is must try.

Room Tip: go for lake view room in the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for sharing your comments with us and all travelers ! It is so pleasant to read such praise for our property, it was shared with the entire team and staff members.

We are delighted to read that you had a mindblowing stay with us at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne and that you enjoyed our lake view rooms as well as our food expertise and of course, the famous Mövenpick Ice Cream.

Lausanne is a city worth visiting and I am delighted to read that our reception staff has been able to guide you and share their knowledge to enhance your stay and make it worth remembering.

We all look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

On the positive side: the views are great, the location is great- very close to the metro, ferries, shopping and restaurants- and the gym is very good- it is clean, inviting, and has a good distribution of equipment. On the negative side- the Wifi did not work in the room. Complaining about this to three members of staff did no good- they just suggested I did not know how to use the internet. However, their technician agreed that the problem was the room, not our computers. Also, the rooms are very small and the breakfast is overpriced- however there are several good breakfast options that are very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sara B,

Thank you for your comments following your stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

I am however surprised to read that you mention 'expensive wifi' in your comments title as our wifi is offered to all our clients. Should your wifi connection appear on your hotel bill, please do not hesitate to contact me.

As for the room connection, we have, following your comments, tested our connections in all our room types and all our hotel wings with IT specialists that have reported no problems to be noted. I am extremely sorry to read that you encountered difficulties with our Wifi system and can only apologize for this.

All our hotel rooms have a minimum size of 23 square meters which is an average in this part of the world. I understand that you found this to be rather small.

Concerning our breakfast, a choice of 100 dishes is available from our Buffet at CHF 34.00. Alternatively, you can chose to take a Continental breakfast at CHF 24.00 or even order the à la carte breakfast. I am sorry if this information did not reach you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

JM Berner
Director of Sales

p/o C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful two night stay. Had a room on the third floor with amazing views of the lake and mountains. The hotel is faultless, all staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, especially the reception staff. The rooms are spotless and well equipped. Free wifi. The ice cream is a must have! Really can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Emma,

Thank you so much for publishing your feedback following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to provide you with the best of services.

We too are really looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards from sunny Lausanne.

C Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel has both great restaurants and located next to the lake. I recommend a lake view room, it is definitely worth it! Very good gym as well with all the proper equipment for a great workout. The I telnet connection is very low so that would be my only complaint.

Room Tip: Pick a lake view room and high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Phyrebird,

Many thanks for your recent feedback following your stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you are right in mentionning the lake view rooms which provide beautiful sceneries !

Our gym is equipped with 30 machines and is well appreciated from our customers, just like you did.

We understand that you encountered problems with internet. Offering free internet to all our customers sometimes means that our systems runs slower than usual. Please accept all our appoligies for this.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you very soon.

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne

Address: 4, avenue de Rhodanie, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.