We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with very nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, avenue de Rhodanie, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 hotels in Lausanne
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel with very nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed one night here on the way to Spain. The hotel is very nice and the staff was helpful and friendly at checkin. I was traveling with a baby and a dog which is not always easy, but the room was setup with the baby cod on arrival which was great. I also loved the lake view. Worth paying a little extra for.

Since we couldn't leave the rom we ordered room service and the food was great. Compliments to the kitchen.

Now to some warnings. The hotel garage has a maximium height of 1.85m. it would have been nice to get a heads up before driving down the narrow alley and being forced to back out due to our roof rack. Excusable though. not excusable though was the water temperature when I had a shower later the evening. I had goose bumps once I was finished and had to warm up in bed first. I have read about this in another review and can only back it up. This should be addressed by the hotel.

Room Tip: take the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Esteemed Customer,

First of all, the entire management and team wishes you a very happy New Year.
Thank you for forwarding your comments which are always extremely appreciated.
.We surely will look into them and make sure that your next stay with us is a perfect one.

Best regards from Lausanne

JM Berner
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    205
    65
    17
    9
See reviews for
56
106
26
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Madryn, Argentina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located, just by the waterfront, 100 mts from train station, hotel gives you free transportation cards, restaurants of great quality and different pricing, breakfast with lots of options and quality and quantity. Rooms very good, silent and staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask clearly for what kind of room you want when you make the reservation. I slept in an internal roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thannk you ever so much for these positive comments which delight us all.

The entire team wishes you a very Happy New Year !

Best regards

JM Berner
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I know this Hotel for different purposes: business lodging, dinner in the very nice brasserie and summer ICe-cream.. :-) It's very well located along the lake in Lausanne, on the beautiful promenade. It's very clean and comfortable inside, thou with a modern furniture (I normally prefer old-fashion ones). The staff is very kind and the service is always excellent, They have an internal small bar/brasserie very nice during the evening. Prices are higher during the week (business related) but can go down a lot during the weekend where tourists are. The location is also very close to the Metro station, about a 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: I would suggest the rooms positioned on the lake side, very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Responsable commercial at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Ema,

Thank you ever so much for your feeback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards

JM BERNER
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While the rooms are small, they have everything you need. The staff are excellent and the location good for business and leisure. This is my second stay and I would go back again. The breakfast has a good range and everything is very close.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Responsable commercial at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Kylie,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We hope to have the chance of welcoming you again soon. Please do not hesitate to try one of our new Business Rooms, we are sure that you will have a wonderful stay.

Best regards

JM BERNER
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

A good hotel in an excellent location. Rooms are a good size and clean. WiFi works well and the staff are superb. Only negative is the birds in the restaurant but this adds a bit of character to the place!

A very good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Responsable commercial at Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Calder,

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback that has been shared with all my colleagues.

We are aware of the birds flying around (especially during summer period) and can assure that we are doing everything possible to redeem this noysance to a minimum.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in November because of studies at IMD which is closeby. The location is in that way very good, and I was lucky to have a room with a view to Geneva Lake. Room was fine, but the first night was too hot in the room, aircon was very noisy and to open the window was not an option because of the street noise. Next nights was much better somehow. Service was excellent and breakfast was good. Strange that birds was flying around the restautant?
I guess swiss hotels just are expensive (first time in Switzerland) but I think this was really expensive.
All in all, very good hotel with excellent service, but also expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our family of 4 (2 x kids - 2.5years and 2 months old) stayed here in July when we relocated form NYC to Lausanne. Obviously a huge leap, from New York to the small-town charm of Lausanne, but we've lived here before, and were prepared for a transition.

The hotel had been renovated since our last experience, and is very clean though the style is very simple, the rooms are bright and pleasant (we overlooked the harbour....ask for this if possible) and the staff were overall, very helpful and efficient. We had 2 x interconnecting rooms, one with a King bed, and one with 2 x queens. Although on a busy road, with windows closed at night, it's very quiet.

Clearly, staying in a hotel for 2 weeks at the height of summer, awaiting furniture for a new home can be challenging at the best of times, but with 2 x children, one of them a newborn(!)...well let's say we were glad it was over by the end of our stay!

However, for short visits and vacations, it's an excellent location, close to 2 x supermarkets, a bakery and many restaurants and small shops. It's a very touristy area of Lausanne, so there are always many people about. There is a children's playground across on the lake shore, and a carousel too! The Lausanne Metro starts right in Ouchy, and you can travel to the centre and top of Lausanne in minutes. So easy to get around, and saves a long, hard walk up Lausanne's notorious inclines!

It's a popular business hotel, so it can be very crowded in the lobby, and lifts can take a while to arrive. We mostly had room service or ate out, though the brasserie had good food and a playroom for children. The hotel has access to a VERY small, privately run carpark underneath it. It's very expensive, and is always full. I would suggest using an underground carpark across from the hotel, or an even cheaper one outdoors further along the lake. In fine weather, a stroll is not a problem, but when it's raining or snowing, the underground parks are clearly more convenient.

If necessary, I would stay here again, or recommend to others. It's nothing amazing, and quite expensive for it's standard, but everything in Switzerland is!

The location is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Lake Geneva
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne

Address: 4, avenue de Rhodanie, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#4 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Lausanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.