We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid, friendly hotel. Convenient location to rail station.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Avenue de la Gare, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Lausanne
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“A solid, friendly hotel. Convenient location to rail station.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here two nights while visiting colleagues at Univ Lausanne (which is quite a distance away btw). One days when there is no haze or fog, the lake view from the 1/3 of rooms with one (see below) is fantastic. This is a very serviceable, but very not romantic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask directly for a lake view. Room 213, 313, 413 all have a good lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    43
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
20
18
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odivelas, Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Sometimes you go to a 4 stars thinking that the service will not be the best but it's not the case. An historic building near the Lausanne Gare with many public transportation nearby and 5 minutes walking from the city center. The rooms are cozy and the breakfast is excellent. All the employees have been nice during the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on business purpose twice. It lacks a bit of charm, but it is clean, well located (close to train station), and has a great view of the lake. It also has nice terraces with small table and chairs, nice for a drink or dinner. The rooms are clean and modern, but lack a personal touch. If your neighbor watches TV, you will probably hear some of it. Breakfast was very good, but not outstanding.

Room Tip: I recommend taking a quiet room facing south (lakeview) either on a high floor, or further below wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. The receptionists have all been very helpful and pleasant. The food in the restaurant is wonderful. Best vegetable soup I have ever had. A reasonable walk from the train station (just a bit uphill). Nice walk down to the lake. Bed is very comfy. Love the sheets. Wife and breakfast included so even though the rate is a bit high (what isn't in Switzerland?), you do get some value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have stayed twice at the Mirabeau, having used several Lausanne hotels. The Mirabeau has a good location near the station (although others are closer) and has very comfortable business rooms with a friendly and efficient staff. Room service was good and breakfast offered a good quality and choice. I like the efficient and friendly atmosphere of the hotel - quick to check in and to check out in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I was on business trip and stayed at Mirabeau. I thought Best Western may no be the best choice, but when I get there I was positively surprised. First of all it has a very good location not far from the Central Station (important when you travel via Geneva Airport). It is also not far from subway station. Very good and professional service at the reception. They even gave me a free ticket to all public transportation in Lausanne for the whole time of my stay. Rooms are clean with free internet. Excellent breakfasts with a wide range of cheese and good bread.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I recently concluded a four night stay at this hotel. As the title says...we loved it.

The room was bright and pleasant, the staff lovely and the breakfast buffet very good.

We got a superior room and when I confirmed the hotel reservations, I asked if we could have a lake view room. The manager got back to me and said they couldn't promise that because of the way they allocated the rooms...but guess what? We got a room with a balcony and a fantastic view of Lake Geneva. It was wonderful to sit out there each evening after a hectic day of touring. We were in room 414.

We really liked the breakfast, a nice variety of things to eat, good coffee and someone in attendance to watch over everything from the staff. Most days we were there it was a young lady who was very pleasant and did a terrific job.

The bathroom is a little on the small size, but that's the way things are in most European hotels. We found it perfectly suitable.

The room had a safe and plenty of storage room for clothes and the suitcases. The wifi access was the strongest we've had at any hotel in Europe.

The hotel is a slight walk up hill from the train station. We had no problem with our two rolling bags, others might. It would be a short taxi ride from the station, if you had to. Being close to the station made it easy for us to travel to other parts of Switzerland.

In short, we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in beautiful Lausanne, either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau

Address: 31 Avenue de la Gare, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#6 Business Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel BEST WESTERN PLUS Mirabeau Lausanne is located next to the bus stop that bears its name, just 400 meters from the train station and Lausanne's Metro. The 4-star hotel offers 75 quiet rooms. It is a haven of peace and tranquility as you would not expect in such a central location. In addition to its reputated Restaurant wich offers an excellent service, its Bar, its Terrace with shady chestnut trees, its banquet and Event rooms, the hotel stands out through its quality of service. At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau, all our customers are VIP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mirabeau
Best Western Lausanne
Lausanne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.