We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel - efficient and friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Avenue de la Gare, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Lausanne
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good business hotel - efficient and friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have stayed twice at the Mirabeau, having used several Lausanne hotels. The Mirabeau has a good location near the station (although others are closer) and has very comfortable business rooms with a friendly and efficient staff. Room service was good and breakfast offered a good quality and choice. I like the efficient and friendly atmosphere of the hotel - quick to check in and to check out in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    50
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
23
20
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I was on business trip and stayed at Mirabeau. I thought Best Western may no be the best choice, but when I get there I was positively surprised. First of all it has a very good location not far from the Central Station (important when you travel via Geneva Airport). It is also not far from subway station. Very good and professional service at the reception. They even gave me a free ticket to all public transportation in Lausanne for the whole time of my stay. Rooms are clean with free internet. Excellent breakfasts with a wide range of cheese and good bread.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I recently concluded a four night stay at this hotel. As the title says...we loved it.

The room was bright and pleasant, the staff lovely and the breakfast buffet very good.

We got a superior room and when I confirmed the hotel reservations, I asked if we could have a lake view room. The manager got back to me and said they couldn't promise that because of the way they allocated the rooms...but guess what? We got a room with a balcony and a fantastic view of Lake Geneva. It was wonderful to sit out there each evening after a hectic day of touring. We were in room 414.

We really liked the breakfast, a nice variety of things to eat, good coffee and someone in attendance to watch over everything from the staff. Most days we were there it was a young lady who was very pleasant and did a terrific job.

The bathroom is a little on the small size, but that's the way things are in most European hotels. We found it perfectly suitable.

The room had a safe and plenty of storage room for clothes and the suitcases. The wifi access was the strongest we've had at any hotel in Europe.

The hotel is a slight walk up hill from the train station. We had no problem with our two rolling bags, others might. It would be a short taxi ride from the station, if you had to. Being close to the station made it easy for us to travel to other parts of Switzerland.

In short, we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in beautiful Lausanne, either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Expected something poor, but pleasantly surprised. Nice check in staff, rooms nice and some with a balcony and food in the restaurant was great (although waiters have a little bit of attitude, so no tip left as a result - there loss not mine). I would stay here again. It was good.

Room Tip: Choose a back room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is 5 min walk from the station , very clean and honest service. Good If you are not looking for anything fancy or is on business.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel is very clean with sheets, not just a duvet/comforter. The view out our window was amazing, a total sweep of Lake Geneva, even in the winter. We did not have a bathtub, but other rooms did, if you want one. The linens were nice with wash/face cloths and toiletries. It was peaceful and relaxing, many business clients use this hotel, so it is quiet. The breakfast was delicious, especially the Muesli (Granola, nuts, fruit and yogurt all mixed together). The hotel gave us a free transit pass for our stay in Lausanne. It was good for trolley and buses, which was excellent on a cold winter day. It is on the same street as the train station, just up the hill. The food in the ajoining bar and separate restaurant is very expensive.

Room Tip: If you want a View of the lake, ask for a higher level floor in the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Ladies at the reception desk were extremely nice and helpful., they even arranged a bagged breakfast for me on my last day since I had to leave before the breakfast area opened. This hotel is a short ~5 min walk from the train station which goes to the Geneva airport so that is handy. I arrived late on a Sunday so I ate at the hotel restaurant. The food is good and the staff are very attentive, but the food is VERY expensive which may just be how it is everywhere in Switzerland. Hotel is a short walk to the lake, I could see it from my balcony. Rooms okay, free wi-fi and breakfast (some meats, cheeses, bread, etc). Overall, it's a good deal and it's one of the cheaper priced hotels in Lausanne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau

Address: 31 Avenue de la Gare, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Business Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel BEST WESTERN PLUS Mirabeau Lausanne is located next to the bus stop that bears its name, just 400 meters from the train station and Lausanne's Metro. The 4-star hotel offers 75 quiet rooms. It is a haven of peace and tranquility as you would not expect in such a central location. In addition to its reputated Restaurant wich offers an excellent service, its Bar, its Terrace with shady chestnut trees, its banquet and Event rooms, the hotel stands out through its quality of service. At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau, all our customers are VIP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mirabeau
Best Western Lausanne
Lausanne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.