We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Avenue de la Gare, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I was surprised that there was no free WiFi at the hotel, since most of the other hotels I stayed in this visit in Switzerland had no charge for it. The so-called "business center" was in a closet-sized room with one computer, and that needed updating. The staff were very courteous and helpful, and the large, pleasant breakfast room was a nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    56
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
26
21
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed here just one night and was very pleased. Front desk staff was efficient. Rooms a bit on the small side but that is to be expected at this price range. Rooms had all the necessary amenities and the bathrooms were small but workable. Only had breakfast in the restaurant but it was excellent, both the food and the ambience. Hard to believe it’s a Best Western but the chain is very different in Europe compared with what to expect in the US. I would, without hesitation stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here three nights, one as a tourist and two on business. I'm not wild about the Best Western Hotels I've stayed at in the states and had some concerns about what an international Best Western would be like. This hotel beat my expectations, but still failed to impress.

The good: The hotel was a relatively short walk from the rail station and was able to accomodate my early check-in (I showed up before10 and the room was ready before noon). A wonderful view of Lac Leman and across to Evian les Bains from my room. The local fare card good on the bus and subway was helpful. The included breakfast was also excellent.

The rest: Very small room with the smallest bathroom I've ever had in a hotel. The bath soap dispenser was on the wall and dispensed a rather vile perfumed bath gel. The towels were low quality. The bedding was cheap and not especially comfortable (they must use the same mattresses as they do in the states). The room was clean but dated. I know this is Switzerland, but in the states, a similar room would go for 1/2 to 1/3 the cost. The first night was out of my pocket, and I stayed here because the room was competatively priced relative to the others I looked at. Still, to me it was pricy for what was offered. As I recall, the internet was free, but wired only.

I probably would not stay here on a return trip, nor would I recommed the hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I slept many times at the hotel Mirabeau. Rooms are very very clean, but they are unfortunately just too old. The smell of old furnitures in the room is quite disgusting! Service is really poor, same for the breakfast buffet

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed in January 2011 during visit to local manufacturer. Wonderful location and hotel very welcoming and accomodating. Very close to the railway station. About 15min steep walk into city centre - some great bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Comfortable hotel close to the station. Very professional staff.
The restaurant is open on Sunday night - very practical since most other places are closed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I chose this hotel for my French-speaking Switzerland journey and I was not disappointed at all. My requirement was air conditioning so I took a business-class room. Service was good - as far as I used it. Hotel is decorated in a nice retro style and the room was in a good condition. I was on the third floor (guest rooms start from the first floor) and road noise isolation was very good.

Location is great, to reach the railway station just walk downhill for, say, 10
minutes. My room had a silent minibar. Paid WiFi is claimed - actually it is provided by Swisscom. No omelette was available for the breakfast but this could be compensated with eggs. Restaurant was good quality but the portions were a little less than desired, good for health though. A free computer with Internet connection was available.

Problems: isolation from bathroom of a neighbouring room - noise from the shower could be heard so the isolation was just satisfactory. Bath cleaning could be a little improved.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau

Address: 31 Avenue de la Gare, Lausanne CH-1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Business Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel BEST WESTERN PLUS Mirabeau Lausanne is located next to the bus stop that bears its name, just 400 meters from the train station and Lausanne's Metro. The 4-star hotel offers 75 quiet rooms. It is a haven of peace and tranquility as you would not expect in such a central location. In addition to its reputated Restaurant wich offers an excellent service, its Bar, its Terrace with shady chestnut trees, its banquet and Event rooms, the hotel stands out through its quality of service. At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau, all our customers are VIP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mirabeau
Best Western Lausanne
Lausanne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.