We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietest hotel ever, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Voyageurs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Des Voyageurs to your Saves list
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Rue Grand Saint Jean 19, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quietest hotel ever, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The hotel is situated in the middle of a pedestrian zone in central Lausanne. I kept the window open at night and was not bothered by traffic. I could hear church bells in the morning. The area is full of shops and restaurants.

The staff was very helpful and explained all the features. They gave a pass that was good on the metro and buses, although no one ever checked the pass on the metro. Because the streets are so twisted, it was a bit difficult to find the street, even with a aerial photo. The metro is 2 minutes away once you know where to go. The easiest way is to use the pedestrian bridge that is accessed by elevator from outside the metro station. It was a 15 minute walk to the train station, but again would be difficult if you don't know the way; on the way to the station, you just go downhill all the way.

The bathroom(s) looked like they had been retrofitted to the room. In one corner is a tiny room for the toilet, and in the diagonally opposite corner is a sink and shower. There was no door for the latter room, so you would want to know your room mate well if you are having a shower. But the fixtures were new and clean. The furniture was a bit run down, but again everything was clean. Wireless internet worked flawlessly with an easy connection; my Blackberry automatically reconnected each time. There is no safe, and only a key lock on the door. The room was cool in March but there was no air conditioning so it may be hot in summer.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the inside courtyard which is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
5
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

THe location is great, and makes a good base to see the city. The brekfast is basic but adequate. The room I had (single) was japanese small and the cathedral bells could be heard hourly. The staff are very firendly

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Good points:

- good location, in the nice pedestrian city center
- good bread and coffee for breakfast
- free sweets at reception, free bus pass

Not so good points:

- the breakfast music playlist - are they trying to make us depressed from the very morning?
- nothing very original in the breakfast, it's the very same every morning
- my bathroom had no door! and its entrance is right next to the room entrance door - who likes walking bare-feet on that part of the rug?
- had to steal toilet paper from the cleaners' tray in the hallway - she wouldn't replace the one in my room, even though I was clearly running out of it
- everything in the room looks like it dates back to the seventies: the phone, the TV, the rug... but then that's true for most things in Switzerland

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed here two full weeks. Our room was very large and on the first floor in the front. Even though the room faced the street, it's a pedestrian zone, so street noise was not a problem; however there was occasional noise from groups of people walking late at night and from the service vehicles that came through. The area right across from the hotel seemed to be an area where smokers congregated, and we did get some residual odors from that.

We did find the beds rather odd--the pillows were extremely flat, and the bed mattresses did not meet up with the headboard, so reading in bed was almost impossible. In the two weeks we were there, I don't think the room was cleaned other than remaking the beds (the bedding was changed once, I think) and replacing the towels--no vacuuming. We had an empty soap dispenser for two full days, even after mentioning that it was empty twice. The breakfast room was large and bright. Breakfast was the same every day, but the quality was good.

The hotel was in an excellent location: just a very brief walk from the Metro (which is extremely efficient), shops, and restaurants. There are at least three areas very nearby with Saturday markets. Be sure to take advantage of Lausanne's easy access to ferries and trains to other towns along Lake Geneva to get the most out of your stay.

The internet was free, although it's speed and reliability varied greatly. The tv was not as big as my laptop computer screen and carried two channels in English (CNN and BBC). The hotel staff were generally helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

What a bad experience!

We came into the city without a hotel, we looked at well situated hotels in a 3stars category... this one appeard to meet.
Upon asking the (very friendly) receptionist told us "we have a great double room for you". At a price of CHF 190 (USD 195) this wasn't cheap but we decided not to risk, as it was already getting late.

- The room are old and noisy, inadequately equipped, with old furniture about to crack, floor in a very dusty rug and a function bed, which apparently can be lift up as cabinet.
- The bathroom is small, sticky and very, very old.
- You get a very limited breakfast.

The only two good points are the very friendly staff (specially the breakfast lady), and the location. But DEFINITIVELY NOT WORTH ITS PRICE!

Certainly not a recommendation. We felt this was a scam for the price

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

The Hotel is very conveniently located. This is the only good point.

Although the wi-fi is for free, it's very insecure. It uses WEP encryption with a ridiculous five-characters password that is very easy to crack. Once you are connected you can also browse the other visitors PCs. Be aware!
The bathroom was so small that the basin didn't fit in and they installed it in the room, right in front of the bed.
The street is very loud and I couldn't sleep during almost my entire stay.
The breakfast offer is rather poor, but I think this is a common issue in Switzerland.
Finally, the hotel itself was a furnace by the end of June and, of course, no air conditioning is available.
The prize is for sure too high as compared to the offer. I found the hotelier also a bit arrogant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Des Voyageurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Voyageurs

Address: Rue Grand Saint Jean 19, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Des Voyageurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Voyageurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.