We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alas poor duck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Canard Pekinois

Au Canard Pekinois
Place de Chauderon 16, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
021.329.03.23
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 431 Restaurants in Lausanne
Price range: $25 - $74
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“alas poor duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

well situated in the center of lausanne, a fine chinese restaurant with an excellent duck beijing style

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    48
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Lausanne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very good chinese food, especially the duck. Could be quite expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food but a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This restaurant is nicely decorated and the service is nice. me and my 2 colleagues are both Chinese so we decide to try this place. We ordered a half of a grilled duck, a steamed fish and spicy chicken, 3 white rice and green tea.
Considering the fact that we are not in China, the duck is nicely grilled. It is however much smaller than we expected. I would say I can easily finish the half duck by myself. The other 2 dishes are also nicely cooked.

The downside of this restaurant is the price. The grilled half duck cost CHF45. We feel that is a little expensive for the size of the duck. The other 2 dishes are also around CHF 32-35, and the size is also very small. The rice is also expensive, at CHF 4 a small bow I would think twice before ordering. The price of the tea is PER person not per table. We were a little surprised to see the tea cost us CHF16.50 for 3 of us.
For 3 of us we end up spending around CHF140 and we were barely full. We are on business trip so we didn't mind too much about the price. But for anyone that's on a budget don't go here expecting a cheap Chinese meal.

BTW. They only at 7pm for dinner so if you get there early you will have to wait outside or at the Cafe next door.

Also a Tip: If you need a quick dinner and want the grilled duck, get there before they open and have your order in before everyone else. The place can be packed and the grilled duck take a LONG time to cook.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Solid Chinese Cuisine and well kept - but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

A great place for a date or a slightly upscale dinner with friends.

After all these years (10+ I guess) the people managing this restaurant are still there (I recognized at least two head waiters/managers). To me that is a testament to the owners commitment to delivering quality meals to customers.

As I frequently go to Hong Kong, NYC or SF and eat Chinese meals there, these guys don't quite make it to the top of my chart. HOWEVER, by Swiss standards, this restaurants remains one of if not the 'nicest' Chinese restaurants in Lausanne. During our last meal we sat in one of the private dining rooms with our friends who had lived in Singapore and everyone agreed the food was good. Duck, beef, lamb, chicken and dim sum starters from tasty to very good.

On the downside, the dishes are pricey and when you add in drinks and desert, don't be surprised to walk out at 75-100CHF per person.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of best asian experience in lausaane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

Very fine food but it is a bot expensive. Majority of time you have a good service however i am surprise that the waitress does not reallyunderstand french - the local lamguage

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Canard Pekinois also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Au Canard Pekinois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Canard Pekinois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.