We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Hotel on our Europe Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stanserhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stanserhof to your Saves list
Hotel Stanserhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stansstaderstrasse 20a, Stans CH-6370 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stans
Denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Adorable Hotel on our Europe Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Trafalgar tour of Europe. The hotel was full of charm and very clean. Some of the rooms were a bit small, but we ended up with a triple room (for two people), with very comfortable beds. The bathrooms are a bit outdated, but they are clean. Our room faced the mountains, and the views were amazing.

The restaurant is an Asian restaurant (which sounded odd), and was really good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    3
    10
    5
See reviews for
10
14
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
geneva
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I chose this hotel for the restaurant Clubasia, which on Mondays was unfortunately closed. What a pity. The service staff were very accomodating and nice. Family serviced. Almost self service as there was hardly anyone at the desk therefore was picking up my key myself and depositing everyday. Room was facing the train station, therefore lots of noise with trains every couple of minutes passing under the window. Walls were thin, therefore could hear everything next door even the loud music in the bar downstairs.
Breakfast was encouraging as nicely served with warmth and variety.

Room Tip: Not facing the train tracks....too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stans hotels

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

First the noise. On the right side of my room window is the train line and on the left side is the busy main street through the town. This hotel hosts Swiss military soldiers and they made lots of noise after drunk at night. Thanks to the thin wall we all heard it.

Second the uncomfortable condition. Room is tiny and especially shower area I even can’t turn around considering I’m just average build. Carpet is old and dirty. Bed mattress is worn and I’ve been worrying springs might stick out. Food was limited and hardly edible. Internet is very expensive and TV only shows few local channels in German.

Last but not the least the terrible services I’ve experienced. The older female manager at front desk was very rude. She told off a fellow couple in the tour when they asked to confirm if the dinner soup was vegetarian. I’m not sure if above Archer_011 refers to me but I did get charged 5 Francs when I asked a cup of hot water. We complained above bad experience to our Trafalgar tour director before we left and she went to question that manager “Do you realize none of my tour members came back for dinner for the second night? Because your service is stink!”

It’s a big failure for Trafalgar to arrange this terrible hotel in its list and I strongly suggest try all you can to avoid it no matter with a tour or travel on your own.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a Trafalgar Tour. Had a huge room with a little kitchenette (did not use it). Hotel is situated directly opposite the new Cabrio cable car base station. I don't think it was opened as yet. Dinner was the best of the included dinners on the tour. Breakfast was very basic. Stans is only 15 mins away by train from Lucerne. Trafalgar offered an optional tour to Mt Pilatus but we did not do this as there is no snow there in summer. We decided to go to Mt Titlis in Engelberg instead. It is less than 30min by train. Train station is behind the hotel. The train station sells a package ticket to Mt Titlis including train fare, 2 cable cars, rotair as well as the ice flyer. Go to www.titlis.ch/en for more information.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel in Stans, around 25 minutes from Lucerne is a family owned hotel in this small mountain town, and is situated on the main street, with a railway line running behind the hotel. First impressions are good, with a nice outside restaurant area and a modern entry. The reception area is small, with a bar on one side and leading off on the same side are stairs to some rooms, whilst other rooms must be accessed through the restaurant which is on the other side of the reception area. The older lady on reception is very dismissive and unfriendly. Internet is expensive at 25 francs for 24 hours. I was on a Trafalgar tour so my bags were delivered to my room, which was lucky as the lift was small and unreliable, so we used the stairs. The room was a glorified backpacker’s hostel room, certainly a big step down from the other hotels stayed in on this tour, and a poor choice for a two night stay, the only saving grace was the view of the mountain. The carpet smelt and was stained, including oil from a leaking heater. TV remotes batteries held in with tape, but remote wouldn’t work. The bathroom is small and dingy, however the water is hot and has good pressure. The bed was comfortable, although the sheet was straight onto the mattress with what looked like a child’s bedwetting sheet half way up the mattress. The towels and curtains are on the thin side, as are the walls, we could hear our neighbours talking and showering through the wall. We ate dinner in the restaurant, it was average. Breakfast was very limited choice, and I had to ask for hot water for tea. One of my fellow travellers had been charge 4.90 francs the previous evening for a cup of hot water. Don’t stay here if you can avoid it, pay a little more for another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We had done our homework and heeded the advise of those here at TripAdvisor before us: insist on obtaining a room that does not face the train. Because we asked, our room was in the building next door to most of our colleagues, and while they were forced to listen to the train passing by all night, we slept peacefully in our quiet, tidy rooms. The town is cute, be sure to walk down and around the church in the middle of the town. Lots of cafes and shops to poke around into! Very close to Luzerne too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the train!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The hotel is wedged between the town's main street and the railroad. Every few minutes, the railway crossing bell rings, then the train passes. No train between about 1am and 5am, so one can sleep for about 4 hours. Room dull, no decoration, carpet needs refreshing. While I was there the light was not working in the hallway, and the stopper in the sink was blocked open. By the way, Stans is surrounded by hills, so in summer it can become quite hot. No air conditioning in the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stanserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanserhof

Address: Stansstaderstrasse 20a, Stans CH-6370 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Unterwalden > Canton of Nidwalden > Stans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanserhof 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stanserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stanserhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.