We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a great place to have lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Zum See

Restaurant Zum See
Wichieweg 44, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
027 967 20 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 178 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $94
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Simply a great place to have lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's not the fanciest place in the world - but the cooking is homely and good Swiss fare. I have never been to Zermatt in the Summer before and have only eaten here at Christmas. I think it is the genuine article - even though it was packed - the service was efficient but relaxed. I have not eaten inside only outside and whilst you don't get Chez Vrony views (hard to beat) it is a quaint and picturesqu spot with a different view of the mountains. The walk up justifies a pudding - which are large and naughty.

Definitely not to be missed on any trip to Zermatt

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    44
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a meal here yesterday whilst walking down to Zermatt from Furi. The service was excellent and the food, considering where you are, was fantastic. Beautiful setting in a very old little village. Can,t believe some of the other reviews. This is definitely worth a visit. Loved it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“quaint building, but disappointing service and menu choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we had high expectations for our mountain meal at Zum See, especially after our amazing experience at Chez Vrony but our party of 7 were all disappointed. Our reserved table was inside, in a very cramped position and we only just managed to get all 7 round the table. The menu was interesting but not particularly exciting and meat dishes were very expensive. Our waitress, i think she was the owner, was very rude and abrupt and none of us felt very welcome. she was patronising when one of our party asked if the special of the day, beef stroganoff came with rice, she rolled her eyes and said, no we don't serve rice or french fries here! but we hadn't even mentioned the fries. The quality of the food was good but did not live up to the prices being charged. We all ordered desserts and these came in stages, not acceptable for such a high priced restaurant, with one dessert so late that we had all finished - it wasn't a difficult dessert to produce either, a cold slice of their house chocolate cake!. the wine menu was good and we did enjoy a delicious bottle or two. Would we go back? probably not, there are so many other amazing restaurants in Zermatt to choose from.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Terrible views/seating. Food is not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had to laugh after we visited it. Its the most terrible scenery you can find in the mountains. Most tables are outside surrounded by houses designed for farm animals. Food is good, but its not specifically gastronomic. Do not bother going there or to Blatten. Much better to go to the restaurant in Stafel, Furi or further up in the mountains.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is kind of hidden. We went in early as is best without resv. Great service. Great food, great hide away. But this little collective of huts sprang to life as mass amounts of people showed up for lunch. They just kept putting up tables around the yard. Loved the atmosphere, get there early or make a resv. because its a well known hidden gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zum See also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Zum See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Zum See, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.