We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Zum See

Restaurant Zum See
Wichieweg 44, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
027 967 20 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 172 restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $24 - $94
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a meal here yesterday whilst walking down to Zermatt from Furi. The service was excellent and the food, considering where you are, was fantastic. Beautiful setting in a very old little village. Can,t believe some of the other reviews. This is definitely worth a visit. Loved it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    138
    30
    8
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“quaint building, but disappointing service and menu choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we had high expectations for our mountain meal at Zum See, especially after our amazing experience at Chez Vrony but our party of 7 were all disappointed. Our reserved table was inside, in a very cramped position and we only just managed to get all 7 round the table. The menu was interesting but not particularly exciting and meat dishes were very expensive. Our waitress, i think she was the owner, was very rude and abrupt and none of us felt very welcome. she was patronising when one of our party asked if the special of the day, beef stroganoff came with rice, she rolled her eyes and said, no we don't serve rice or french fries here! but we hadn't even mentioned the fries. The quality of the food was good but did not live up to the prices being charged. We all ordered desserts and these came in stages, not acceptable for such a high priced restaurant, with one dessert so late that we had all finished - it wasn't a difficult dessert to produce either, a cold slice of their house chocolate cake!. the wine menu was good and we did enjoy a delicious bottle or two. Would we go back? probably not, there are so many other amazing restaurants in Zermatt to choose from.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Terrible views/seating. Food is not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had to laugh after we visited it. Its the most terrible scenery you can find in the mountains. Most tables are outside surrounded by houses designed for farm animals. Food is good, but its not specifically gastronomic. Do not bother going there or to Blatten. Much better to go to the restaurant in Stafel, Furi or further up in the mountains.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is kind of hidden. We went in early as is best without resv. Great service. Great food, great hide away. But this little collective of huts sprang to life as mass amounts of people showed up for lunch. They just kept putting up tables around the yard. Loved the atmosphere, get there early or make a resv. because its a well known hidden gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

As it was our first trip to Zermatt, I had solicited restaurant recommendations from various friends and colleagues and almost without exception, this was the first one mentioned. The location was perfect and also reasonably accessible for my non-skiing wife by footpath. Food was great, the curried prawn noodles in particular hit the spot. Book ahead though !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zum See also viewed

 
Zermatt, Valais
Zermatt, Valais

Been to Restaurant Zum See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Zum See, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.