We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good swiss restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Whymper-Stube

Restaurant Whymper-Stube
Bahnhofstrasse 80, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 174 restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Jessheim, Norway
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good swiss restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

For our first night in Zermatt we choosed "Sparkys" that was rated number one in this city. I can not understand how it is possible that a pub with food service rank higher that this kind of restaurant... But back Whinper stube - it is a traditional restaurant serving many choice if dishes. We picked the Wienersnitzel menu. It was excellent. We also payed attention to other guest reciving delicious dishes. This is a safe habour if you like a traditional style restaurant. It is located in the main street, closed to the church. Go for it....

Consider to make a reservation, since this is a popular restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    83
    81
    18
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
foshan
2 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“best experience with Switzerland Fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we come in at a very early dinner time, hosts give warm welcome, and serve with friendly atmosphere. we order two beef Fondue and one original cheese fondue. which hosts recommend menu. It's fantastic. For chinese, beef fondue recommended,my parents love it very much. and it is nice go with beer. and I had a chance to try the traditional cheese fondue also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Best Fondue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Fondue here was the best I've ever had. I had the spicy fondue. Wow. This place was tough to get a resv at but it was worth the trouble. The staff was amazing too. I know it's hard to believe that any one fondue is better than all the others... but it was. I was the only one at the table who ordered fondue, but everyone was dipping continually after they tried mine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cozy Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a lot of history behind this restaurant. I guess the restaurant was named after a person who first climbed the Matterhorn, I think.

But the most important...I had the Cheese Fondue and it was amazing!!! The ice creams sold at the front as desserts after the lovely Fondue made my life.

The hosts were gracious and treated us as guests rather than clients.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The right place for tourist”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Let's be clear, Swiss don't eat there, but you will find there guest from the rest of the world. The atmosphere is cosy and the decoration typically swiss. The waitress was very nice and friendly. In the end we had a very relaxing evening with our kids, but the food was definitely not oustanding. We had the raclette, and you need to order a plate of dry meat if you want to make it a dinner, and the cheese was probably of the very cheap kind that you find in supermarkets. If you want to try it for the first time, you will probably love it, if you're looking for something more quality, that's probably not the right place.

Just note that unless you take the kids menu without drinks, you will never reach $20

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Whymper-Stube also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Whymper-Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Whymper-Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.