We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view of the Matterhorn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenblick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenblick to your Saves list
Alpenblick
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oberdorfstrasse 106, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Canterbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible view of the Matterhorn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have not been to the Alpenblick for 20 years, but were very pleased with the accomodations, food and service. It is definately worth booking the superior room for the incredible enjoyment of the views of the Matterhorn. Located in the upper vally, the hotel is convenient to the lifts, is very comfortable, beautiful, and offers great service. The half board option offers the convenience of eating in with great food, lots of variety, and great presentation. It offers a very nicely decorated dining area, bar and sitting area as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s-ksmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Killington, Vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been to Zermatt so many times we have lost count and stayed in a different hotel every time we visited this beautiful village. However we will look no further in the future as the Alpenblick is the place to stay. The first greeting is from Ingrid with her warm smile which says welcome to the Alpenblick. The service is spectacular and there are only a few hotels closer to the ski lift. Before our arrival I called the hotel many times with questions relative to skiing, restaurants and just general information and they were always helpful. The food is suburb and the bar is a delightful place to hang around. We were here for seven days and sampled other restaurants a few nights and regret we did not stay and enjoy the cuisine at the Alpenblick. The heated ski boot room is a plus.
Look no further

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kccskihouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Location is perfect...centrally located and a just a few minutes walk to the ski-lift (Furi, Gornergrat).
The staff were very welcoming, friendly and always helpful. Very clean and cozy room with very comfortable beds and spacious bathroom. A la carte service was delicous.
Over-all experience for 3* Superiour Hotel very good!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogiewoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great location for exploring the village, riding the cable car to Matterhorn Paradise, and hiking local trails. The room was large, very clean, with a big bathroom (nice shower) and generous balcony space. We had a spectacular view over the hotel terrace and garden to the Matterhorn. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and spoke several languages. The continental breakfast included hot and cold cereals, an assortment of breads, cheeses, fruits, yogurts and an egg cooker for soft or hard-cooked eggs, as well as juices and hot drinks. The on-site restaurant is a plus and the food was good -- it is best to book a table to avoid waiting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WMUer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Spent three nights here in February. Very comfortable in a single room with enough space for one. Convenient ski storage and an easy walk to the lifts and the center of town. Cozy feel throughout. Breakfast is mostly cold food but with ample choice for everyone. A quiet hotel that makes you feel welcome and appreciated. The lobby space is comfortable for working or socializing and the bar is subdued but will provisioned. A very good choice in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: The single rooms are on the small side by U.S. standards but well equipped so plan on spending more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erikglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I spent one Saturday night in this hotel with my family. We had one room for the parents on the 4th floor, nice penthouse look, no balcony, village view. Well appointed, cosy, quiet, next door to small exercize room and sauna. Room 427, recommended (if you don't mind no balcony and no Matterhorn view). Kids 8/11 were in a smaller room overlooking the brook and the pedestrian street on level 2.
All in all, Valais/Wallis hospitality in multi-generation hotel, the 85 year old previous manager still out and about, nice staff from receptionist to electric taxi driver, well appointed everything (breakfast, ski-room, bar, restaurant, terrace).
Only criticism is that the wi-fi is not free and o my, is it not free. We did not purchase it.
Location is at the end of Zermatt towards the Matterhorn express gondolas. Very convenient for that and a little away from the town center, so quieter and nicer surroundings.

Room Tip: We had one room for the parents on the 4th floor, nice penthouse look, no balcony, village view. Wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pabcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
289 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very well located, 3 minutes walk from the Matterhorn Express to go up to the Klein Matterhorn and the Italian skiing part. Very tidy and clean hotel and rooms. Very generous breakfast. In the evening, walk on the left when coming out of the hotel and in 5 minutes you're on the main street with all bars and restaurants. Had a great time in Alpenblick! Would definitely recommend it and go back myself.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kizkouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.4 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#27 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Petit CHARME-INN
Le Petit CHARME-INN
#61 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#40 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenblick

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 106, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#51 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpenblick 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Alpenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenblick Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing