We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful family run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Bella Vista Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedweg 15 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful family run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

If you are going to Zermatt, this hotel is a good choice. Our visit to Zermatt was for a skiing holiday and we were lucky to book this beautiful family run hotel. It's in a prime location 5 minutes walk from the city center. On arrival at the train station, we took a 15 CHF cab ride...expensive for a three minute ride...to Bella Vista. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Upon arrival, we had a warm and welcoming greeting from the owners. The room itself was a bit smallish...#7...with a view of the Matterhorn through the trees. Extreme clean! The bed was comfy which is a high priority. Wifi was available...but our room had poor reception. Although not a huuge problem for us, if important to you it may make a difference...wifi was available in the community TV room. The location is not far from the ski lift. 5 minute walk. If the snow permits, you can ski down to the hotel 'boot room' which is convenient. The sauna was spacious and very modern.

Fresh local breakfast was provided and was nice. Fresh baked breads, local yogurt, cheeses and jams, fresh squeezed orange juice. Eggs were cooked on order. We did not have dinner at the hotel but they looked good as well. There seemed to be drinks or tea available in the late afternoon in the 'fireplace room' which was a nice way to wind down after skiing.

Service at the hotel was was very attentive and evident there was a great attention to detail.

The city of Zermatt is expensive (20+ CHF for a pizza) but found this hotel to be a good overall value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimCHilversum_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

This really is a gem - cosy and quiet - (good sized bathroom) - all spotless.The staff (the family and everyone) are warm and friendly. Our room was comfortably furnished with a fine view of the Matterhorn from the balcony. The breakfast was particularly special. - squeeze your own orange juice, home made bread, brioches and croissants (try the fruitbrot - would give much for the recipe!) - eggs are cooked to order - splendid! In the evenings we came back to sit round the circular, fireplace and drink hot swiss coffee while toasting our feet on the hearth.
There is a meticulous attention to detail in this hotel and a kindness, which is often hard to find. The climb to the hotel is minimal and if you go the 'long' way, there is almost no slope. We are fans of small hotels and this is one of the nicest.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

It was a family run hotel with 22 rooms. As December is a peak season, it was very difficult to book rooms. Luckily Bella Vista managed to come up with rooms for us but that we need to switch rooms for different nights. First night, we have a big family room (room #3) with great views, then second night, we were switch to a smaller double room (but can still fit an extra bed). The hotel is not located in the city center, it's around 10 - 15 minutes walk down (or steep climb on the return to the hotel - photos attached) to the center. Hotel only provide transfer on arrival and departure. If you don't want to walk, you will have to call a taxi which charge EURO12 per way. Taxi can seat around 6 persons comfortably (we had 6 adults and 3 children and we were supposed to have 2 taxis but the taxi squeeze all of us inside!). The breakfast was simple home made/baked by Mr. Franz himself. The croissant was really crispy! Overall, it was a no frills but clean hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaShellsManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

Family run hotel with terrific view over the lovely town of Zermatt which is dominated by the magnificent Matterhorn. As other reviewers have noted, unless you are fairly fit the walk up the hill from town, particularly if you a pulling you luggage along, can be a bit taxing. Definitely suggest that you arrange with the hotel to be picked up. The hotel itself is delightful. Our room was fairly compact but had everything we needed including a refrigerator and a safe to store valuables. We did not have a Matterhorn view but it is not much more expensive to get a room that does. Great breakfast with beautiful breads baked on the premises. The large balcony area at the front of the hotel with tables and chairs is a great place to relax at the end of the day with a beer or a glass of wine and watch the setting sun change the colour of the Matterhorn. One evening we bought a cooked chicken and some bread and salads in town and had our meal on the balcony.Staff very helpful and friendly. Quite reasonably priced by Swiss standards

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spencer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Hotel Bella Vista is a short walk from the train station up hill - not for the unfit - which gives it stupendous views of the Matterhorn. Be sure to ask for a room with a view, it is worth it! The hotel is quaint but perfect. Our room was actually three rooms - a double bedroom, a living room with TV, and a room with two twin beds perfect for children (ours were not with us, however). The view from our balcony of the town and the Matterhorn was worth every penny.

The hotel staff was very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. They offered complimentary wine at 6pm in the cozy parlor. We ate a store bought lunch on the sunny deck facing the Matterhorn. The hotel felt like our home for the two nights we were there. The train to Gornergrat trundled along right under the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

If I could sum up the hotel in one word it would be - cute! The hotel is owned by a couple and their daughter and they are fantastic! From the second we arrived to the second we left, the service was top notch. I'm an American living in Europe and (no offense to all you wonderful Europeans) the service, generally speaking, doesn't hold a candle to American service standards. However, the service here exceeded any hotel I have ever been to in the states! Included in your stay is breakfast and a pick up at the train station by the hotel's electric car (7 a.m. - 7 p.m.). We were stuck in traffic and were not able to get to Zermatt until 8:30 p.m. Upon calling the hotel and asking for walking directions from the train station, they were more than willing to come pick us up free of charge. In addition, there were swiss chocolates waiting for us in our room upon arrival. Every morning at breakfast they went out of their way to ask us how our stay was going, if we needed hiking info or restaurant recommendations. I can't say enough about the service!

The hotel is at the top of a small hill, which was great because we had an awesome view of the town and the Matterhorn. I'm almost positive that most of the rooms have a view of the Matterhorn too. Our room was not on the front of the hotel facing the Matterhorn, but from our balcony (most rooms have) we had a fantastic view through the trees of town and the Matterhorn. The walk uphill is not bad at all. The first day walking up we got slightly winded by the altitude, but thereafter we had no problems. We were glad the hotel was slightly on a hill because it made us feel not so bad about eating all of the chocolate, cheese and fondue!

The breakfasts every morning were to die for. There was a huge variety of local delicious cheeses, fresh brewed coffee, tea and the home maid breads were to die for. The service at breakfast was great too!

The hotel has a nice terrace overlooking town and the Matterhorn which was perfect to enjoy a cocktail at sunset. The reception are is really cozy and has a comfy sitting area beside the fireplace. In addition, there is a spa on the lower level that looks like it was newly renovated. We did not use the hot tubs, steam room or sauna because it was very warm outside, but when we come back during the winter time, we will make sure to enjoy it!

Zermatt is a ridiculously expensive town and this hotel is an amazing value for your money. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccannon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This hotel was a fantastic recommendation by my father-in-law. It is spotless, charming and run by a friendly family who have owned the hotel for years/generations. They speak English, French & German. Our room, a 2 bedroom suite had fantastic views (albeit a little blocked by trees) of the Matterhorn. It was truly mesmerizing!

The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. There is also a very relaxing sun room (with even better views of the Matterhorn and other spa amenities such as steam room, sauna, jacuzzi tubs, etc.

I found the location quite nice as well. Yes, it was a little steep in climbing back from town but I found the walk enjoyable and you were able to retreat from the tourist crowds that descend in town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank znstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE Superior
BELLERIVE Superior
#1 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Address: Riedweg 15 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella Vista is a family run chalet-style hotel, located on the outskirts of Zermatt, offering a panoramic view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is characterized by its personal, informal atmosphere. A library, children's play area, piano, wireless service, Internet, computer and televisions are available for guests to use free of charge. You will be greeted by the scent of homemade creations baking in the oven. Enjoy our SPA after a great day of skiing or hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing